console control codes in 4.1FE

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby tonyw » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:16 am

I apologise: when I said in an earlier post that i had fixed the problem, that was untrue. I was confusing your bug with another.

Your bug has not yet been addressed or fixed and the bug report is still open.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby xenic » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:48 pm

@tonyw
When I'm in the early stages of trying to fix lots of errors and warnings, I frequently want to clear the History and the window so that it's easier to get to the top of the errors/warnings in the next compile attempt. As a matter of user convenience, could you add a menu item that clears both the History and the window?
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby broadblues » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:27 pm

xenic wrote:@tonyw
When I'm in the early stages of trying to fix lots of errors and warnings, I frequently want to clear the History and the window so that it's easier to get to the top of the errors/warnings in the next compile attempt. As a matter of user convenience, could you add a menu item that clears both the History and the window?




try

alias ClearHistory echo NOLINE "*Ec"
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby xenic » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:07 pm

broadblues wrote:
try

alias ClearHistory echo NOLINE "*Ec"


Thanks. That's much simpler than typing CLS and then Right-Amiga-Z. I'm adding that alias to my shell-startup as soon as I complete this post :-)
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 979
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby tonyw » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:14 am

Lazi's original bug has now been fixed. Still checking to make sure that I haven't screwed up something else.

Raziel's report is not a bug at all. When you think of it, all the rows at the top of the screen still have the original background colour in the parts that were not over-written. But when the display starts scrolling, new rows are created at the bottom of the screen, and those rows are created with the current settings, specifically, the new background colour.

So that is why the new rows show the new background colour for their full width.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby Raziel » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:58 am

tonyw wrote:Lazi's original bug has now been fixed. Still checking to make sure that I haven't screwed up something else.

Raziel's report is not a bug at all. When you think of it, all the rows at the top of the screen still have the original background colour in the parts that were not over-written. But when the display starts scrolling, new rows are created at the bottom of the screen, and those rows are created with the current settings, specifically, the new background colour.

So that is why the new rows show the new background colour for their full width.

That sounds logical, yes

But it also means i cannot give automatically created lines that will scroll the shell window a different color without having all new lines be drawn in this color...sigh, back to normal background then

Plus the original bug item
Code: Select all
echo "*E[5;8Hoo"

will look as wrong (whole line instead of only the characters drawn with a white background) if one alters it to draw on a "new" line outside the size of the shell, i.e.
Code: Select all
echo "*E[26;8Hoo"


Plus, if you do
Code: Select all
echo "*E[42m"

on a normal shell background color and on the new line use the TAB feature to scroll though already typed commands the line will also change to full white (because of it being redrawn). This does look wrong aswell to me.

imho i think there should at least be a check for drawn characters and only apply the background change to them otherwise to the full line?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: console control codes in 4.1FE

Postby tonyw » Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:38 pm

If you change the foreground or background colours, no existing text will be touched. New text will be drawn with the new colours, either over old text or on new lines, but old text will not change unless you write over it.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Previous

Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests