Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby samo79 » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:15 pm

Same problem still also in update 1 :?

Try to iconify the "Console" prefs program (SYS:Prefs)
The icon of the settings still iconified (even after you have deiconified its window)

Also when you iconify a shell the icon will be iconified in a wrong place .. again same problem of the old FE :cry:
User avatar
samo79
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Italy

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby tonyw » Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:35 am

Try to iconify the "Console" prefs program (SYS:Prefs)
The icon of the settings still iconified (even after you have deiconified its window)


Looking back, I find an old bug report on this, but I had forgotten about it. I'll take a look at it today.

When you iconify a shell the icon will be iconified in a wrong place


Please explain, I can't see anything wrong here.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby xenic » Sun Jan 01, 2017 6:46 am

samo79 wrote:Also when you iconify a shell the icon will be iconified in a wrong place .. again same problem of the old FE :cry:


The shell apparently uses it's icon in SYS:System for it's iconified icon. If you snapshot the icon in it's window, the iconified icon will align in the same relative place in the Workbench window as it is in the SYS:System window. If you UNSNAPSHOT the shell icon in the SYS:System directory, the shell icon will align below your other icons when you iconify a shell.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby tonyw » Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:38 am

I don't see that. It does not matter where the icon is within the System/ drawer, or whether it is snapshot or not, the Iconified icon always appears in the "next" place on the WB, as it should.

That's on a beta system, Ill try it on an FE Upd1 system...
Booting the X5000...
(time passes)
(time passes)

No, I don't see a problem on the X-5000 either. Booting the Sam 460 with a fresh FE + Update 1...
(time passes)
(time passes)

No, can't see a problem there either.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby kas1e » Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:54 am

@tony
We discuss it about 3-4 years ago. I.e. iconify of the shell icon was random on screen by default and placed not in normal wb-slot-order.

And there is mail which i wrote back in times which was kind of fix for me:

----
What i tryed to do now, its to make iconified shell icon appear in the free WB slot. But as seems that unpossible and i only can snaphost it statically to some static position, i just choice to let's say snapshot it in the Left-Top corner, togehter with "Ram Disk" icon.

So, i open ENVARC via WB , then "CleanUp By Name" (because in other way its unpossible to find icon in such a mess of icons), then resize WB window on the full screen, move def_shell.info on the top-left corner of the window, press on it and do "snapshot". Then i run shell, iconify if, and by some reassons iconified icon jump at the bottom of the WB screen (but at least in right posistion by X).

Then i go easy way : i just move def_iconf from envar on the WB screen where i want to see my iconified icon , snapshot it, and put icon back to the envarc: - and then, iconified icon of shell appears where i need it . A bit boring, but it works :)
-----

the Iconified icon always appears in the "next" place on the WB, as it should.


If i remember, you do something like i do. To see that problem, install clean FE somewhere and you will see.
Last edited by kas1e on Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
kas1e
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:56 am

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby kas1e » Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:22 am

@tony
To show what we mean about "wrong iconify position of shell by default", there is more info:

1) i install FE , upply update1 (but that will be with pure FE the same of course)
2). amiga+e , newcli and shell spawns.
3). press iconify on that shell window, and, instead of placing in the right wb-slot rigth after other icons, iconified icon of shell placed somewhere the middle of the screen. See screenshot:
random_iconify.PNG


With fix i quote in previous mail, it placed correctly. Probably, will be good if it will reacts by default like after fix.
kas1e
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:56 am

Re: Still bug on Console prefs (FE Update 1)

Postby tonyw » Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:44 am

OK, I can't get it to happen on the WB that you get after booting the X5000 Install disk, it works fine there.

I'll try a new FE + Update on the Sam 460. I notice that you specify RAmiga/E + NewCLI - does it still happen if you double-click the Shell icon in System/ ?

On my "clean" systems here, I have changed the Shell icon to specify the size and position to the RHS of screen. That icon is of course snapshot within the System/ directory and I can't see any problem.

I'll try a fresh install...

OK, it happens on a clean install, before I modify the Shell icon or snapshot it. It is a simple change to fix the problem and I thought I had done it some years ago, but no.

Now fixed.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest