DIR command bug

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

DIR command bug

Postby ancalimon » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:16 pm

When I hold ctrl to boot without startup-sequence, I get picture on my VGA monitor connected to CVisionPPC. The dir command lists the files but the display becomes corrupted; it displays one column properly, but when there are more than one column (for example if AmigaDOS window is wide enough), they overlap each other.
ancalimon
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:31 am

Re: DIR command bug

Postby tonyw » Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:28 am

That is hardly a fault of the dir command. It is more likely a fault of the console or graphics lib.

Can you provide a picture of the problem?
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: DIR command bug

Postby ancalimon » Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:27 pm

Here. The first dir command worked properly but the second one and the rest caused corruption.

Image
ancalimon
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:31 am

Re: DIR command bug

Postby Raziel » Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:29 pm

Maybe the corruption happens when the window starts scrolling up the text?
Albeit it doesn't seem to have been scrolled at all?
Seems like it fits on the window perfectly?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: DIR command bug

Postby Spektro » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:35 pm

I can't reproduce the bug with AOS 4.1 FE:
  • Kickstart/con-handler.kmod version 53.72 (03-Oct-14)
  • Kickstart/console.device version 53.83 (01-Oct-14)
  • Kickstart/graphics.library version 54.148 (26-Sep-14)

Can you list your con-handler, console, and graphics libary versions for us ancalimon?
- Janne Peräaho
User avatar
Spektro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: DIR command bug

Postby tonyw » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:48 am

It looks like a console problem to me. Looking forward to the answers to Spektro's question (actual versions).
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: DIR command bug

Postby ancalimon » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:31 am

Spektro wrote:I can't reproduce the bug with AOS 4.1 FE:
  • Kickstart/con-handler.kmod version 53.72 (03-Oct-14)
  • Kickstart/console.device version 53.83 (01-Oct-14)
  • Kickstart/graphics.library version 54.148 (26-Sep-14)

Can you list your con-handler, console, and graphics libary versions for us ancalimon?



Kickstart/con-handler.kmod version 53.78 (14-Apr-16)
Kickstart/console.device version 53.99 (05-May-16)
Kickstart/graphics.library version 54.226 (13-Sep-16)


Why are using older files?

Maybe the problem is related with CVisionPPC.card or 3dLabsPermedia2.chip or BootVGA.kmod ?
ancalimon
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:31 am

Re: DIR command bug

Postby Spektro » Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:06 pm

ancalimon wrote:Why are using older files?

I have two AOS versions installed for testing.

ancalimon wrote:Kickstart/con-handler.kmod version 53.78 (14-Apr-16)
Kickstart/console.device version 53.99 (05-May-16)
Kickstart/graphics.library version 54.226 (13-Sep-16)

I tested with the latest AOS version (AOS 4.1 FE Update 1) now and no graphical glitches. However, I'm using AmigaOne XE.

con-handler 53.80 (27-Jan-17)
console.device 53.105 (25-Jan-17)
graphics.library 54.228 (17-Jan-17)
- Janne Peräaho
User avatar
Spektro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:55 am
Location: Finland

Re: DIR command bug

Postby Raziel » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:21 pm

@Spektro

I have update 1 installed and yet your versions are still newer than mine, why is that?
Are you probably still on a beta system?
I can't believe that update 1 for XE has newer versions as it was said that it will bring all platforms to the same level!?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: DIR command bug

Postby tonyw » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:18 pm

This is definitely a console bug, even with current versions. I'll look into it.

BZ #9819.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Next

Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests