DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby gdridi » Fri May 19, 2017 6:42 pm

Hello,


I remark that with AmigaOS Final Edition the dismount switch of the AmigaDOS Assign command give the message :
" ARABCON: not found " after I,
mount arabcon: from mountlist

My "DOS" device is on the list at the bottom given by assign alone, but,
There's no more way to dismount it !
It was nice to dismount a/my (DOS) device when developing.

Is the switch dismount have a replacement?

Is my device lacking a DOS node "object" to be dismounted with release Final Edition ?

Is there a new "dismount" DOS packet to respond?

Thanks,
DGILLES
gdridi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:17 am

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby xenic » Fri May 19, 2017 10:05 pm

gdridi wrote:Is the switch dismount have a replacement?

Is my device lacking a DOS node "object" to be dismounted with release Final Edition ?

Is there a new "dismount" DOS packet to respond?

There is a SYS:C/Dismount command and there is a new packet to respond to. I did some work on a filesystem device but don't know how a console should handle the new packet. You can check dos.dospackets.doc in SDK:Documentation/AutoDocs. I don't know much else.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby broadblues » Sat May 20, 2017 12:33 pm

Testing here:

assign DISMOUNT RAM:

dismonts RAM: with no problem.

assign DISMOUNT CON:

says CON: not found

C:DISMOUNT CON: works however.

Not sure if assign not dismounting handlers rather than devices is a intended behaviour or not.
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby xenic » Sat May 20, 2017 5:07 pm

broadblues wrote:assign DISMOUNT RAM:

dismonts RAM: with no problem.

And C:Dismount produces this:

C:Dismount ram:
DISMOUNT: packet request type unknown

After reading the autodocs for the ACTION_DIE & ACTION_SHUTDOWN packets and the DismountDevice() function, I get the impression that ram: may not be completely updated to OS4 AmigaDOS standards. I could be wrong and if Colin is reading this maybe he can explain.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby broadblues » Sun May 21, 2017 3:10 am

It might just simply ignore those commands as removing RAM: renders you system somewhat chaotic....
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby colinw » Sun May 21, 2017 4:28 am

xenic wrote:
broadblues wrote:assign DISMOUNT RAM:

dismounts RAM: with no problem.

And C:Dismount produces this:

C:Dismount ram:
DISMOUNT: packet request type unknown

After reading the autodocs for the ACTION_DIE & ACTION_SHUTDOWN packets and the DismountDevice() function, I get the impression that ram: may not be completely updated to OS4 AmigaDOS standards. I could be wrong and if Colin is reading this maybe he can explain.


The dismounting ability of ram-handler is switchable, I use it as a test handler for devolopment, it's off by default.
If you want to play, then in a shell type; sys:Kickstart/ram-handler.kmod ?
(The RESET option puts it all back to defaults.)

And, the reason CON: is not consistent is a bug in the "Assign dismount" emulation, but only with the con-handler.
Besides, you should be using c:dismount anyway, i'll probably remove that awfull assign kludge for the V54 release.
I have no idea who thought it would be a good idea to bolt a device dismounting feature onto a command that
was primarily designed to handle assignments.
User avatar
colinw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:20 am
Location: Brisbane, QLD. Australia.

Re: DOS Assign command and dismount switch with AOSFE

Postby gdridi » Sun May 21, 2017 9:57 pm

Thank you xenic, I found this dismount command on C: and it works well (under AOSFE also) ;
Thank broadblues for testing ; it really helps me, on the way ;
Thank you Colin (or the Asgard from the serie? ) for your insight reflexion, thank you.
DGILLES
gdridi
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:17 am


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest