Media Toolbox and OS

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific

Media Toolbox and OS

Postby mechanic » Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:46 pm

Media Toolbox.

Are the functions Automount, Bootable, and Boot priority on the drive or part of the OS?

I would like to put a second copy of 4.1FE on a different partition of the same drive to test some differences between the CD version and the CD + Updated version, but I don't want each SYS: partition to know the other exists.

:idea:
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Postby Ribdevil » Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:55 pm

You can mount both partitions, and hide one or another with Wokbench Prefs.

Works fine. I have this config in my system.

Virginio
User avatar
Ribdevil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Postby LyleHaze » Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:16 pm

When Workbench prefs "hides" a partition, it just prevents the icon from displaying on the workbench screen.
All partitions that "automount" will be available, whether hidden or not.
The bootable automount partition with the highest boot priority will be the default Sys.
The user MAY select any bootable automount partition from the early start menu if configured that way.

That's my understanding anyway.. I have been wrong before, and I expect I'm not done yet.
User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:06 pm
Location: Georgia, USA, just North of the Florida border

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Postby mechanic » Mon Jun 05, 2017 5:56 pm

Thanks guys, but I used the Big Hammer approach and installed on a separate HD.
Plug, unplug etc.. Real complete isolation. :roll:
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm


Return to General AmigaOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron