Page 1 of 1

AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:46 am
by Amigo1
I'm starting a new topic on this issue:

I noticed the Key sequence "CTRL-J" does not work the way it is described on the wiki AmigaDOS_Understanding_the_Shell under the section "Command Line Editing and Control". The wiki it says:
Ctrl+J Adds a line feed.

That's the way it behaved since AmigaOS 1.3
But now since at least AmigaOS 4.1 Update 5 it behaves like
Ctrl+M Processes the command line (same as Return)


With the old console/shell you could enter more commands and execute them sequentially e.g.:
Code: Select all
date <CTRL-J>
echo "lha x ram:test.lha" <CTRL-J>
date <RETURN>


and the result would be

Code: Select all
Saturday 02-Sep-17 02:08:00
lha x ram:test.lha
Saturday 02-Sep-17 02:08:01


It behaves correctly under AmigaOS 4.1 update 1 on a Sam440.
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 5 has "CTRL-J" the same asl "CTRL-M" already.

Sometimes it is handy to use CTRL-J the way it was described in the AmigaOS 3.1 manual too. Maybe it can be brought back? 8-)

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:57 am
by tonyw
I wasn't aware that the behaviour had changed. I'll take this as a bug report, thanks.

Filed as BZ #9906 so that I don't forget it.

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:21 am
by Amigo1
tonyw wrote:I wasn't aware that the behaviour had changed. I'll take this as a bug report, thanks.

Filed as BZ #9906 so that I don't forget it.


Thank you! :)

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:00 pm
by tonyw
Trying to fix it now: getting the LF (Ctrl-J) to work without ending the command input is easy, but I'm having some trouble with the history handling (Up-arrow for previous command etc).

This part of the code was completely refactored and rewritten back in 2011 and works very differently now.

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:51 pm
by tonyw
I checked old versions and they had the same problem as I did in the latest version - you could enter several commands, separated by <NL>, but when you backed up through them using the Up-arrow, the multiple-line commands gave problems. Even the old 68K versions didn't work properly.

I've fixed it now so that a multi-line command is broken up into separate commands when stored in the History. So as you Up-arrow through them, you see each line in the multi-line command as a separate command.

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:12 pm
by Amigo1
tonyw wrote:I checked old versions and they had the same problem as I did in the latest version - you could enter several commands, separated by <NL>, but when you backed up through them using the Up-arrow, the multiple-line commands gave problems. Even the old 68K versions didn't work properly.

I've fixed it now so that a multi-line command is broken up into separate commands when stored in the History. So as you Up-arrow through them, you see each line in the multi-line command as a separate command.


Frankly, this is the solution I would have thought of as the best.
Thank you very, very much!! :-) :D 8-)

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:36 pm
by nbache
Nice work, Tony!

I assume it will be broken up the same way in the saved history file, if you enable that?

Best regards,

Niels

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 1:47 am
by tonyw
The "saved history file" comes from the console and is representative only of the display on the screen.

This "command input" format we are discussing is a con-handler thang and the console just displays what it is told. All the editing (previous history, erasing/inserting, etc) occurs in the con-handler.

I still have a problem - if you enter one or more commands separated by <NL> and then, instead of typing a new command, you Up-Arrow though the old history, I get the same formatting problems again.
Still working on a fix for that.

Re: AmigaOS Shell issue (FE Update 1)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:24 pm
by nbache
tonyw wrote:The "saved history file" comes from the console and is representative only of the display on the screen.
Right, so the saved history will just show that situation as:

prompt$ first_command
second_command
output from both
prompt$

- or what?

Best regards,

Niels