Page 1 of 1

Beret freeze

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:20 pm
by Ribdevil
Hi everybody.
I have problems with two programs, the games beret and freedroidrpg.
Both programs start well and after a few seconds the computer crashes, having to reset the computer.
It only happens to me with those two games, the rest works great, even more powerful and heavy games, like the Quake modules of Huno ( great work guy ), like Return Castle Wolfnstein, etc.
Any ideas ?
How can I monitor those programs to see the cause ?
All help is good.

Thank you.

Virginio

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:41 am
by javierdlr
Yu can get serial crashlog (GrimpReaper or by using c:dumpdebugbuffer) or systems just freezes and you can only hard-reset system?

Snoopy maybe shows you if some resource (sobjs. libs,..) is missing.

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:32 pm
by Ribdevil
I only can make a hard reset or shootdown the system.

:(

Virginio

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:56 pm
by capehill
What system do you have? How much free VRAM you have before starting the game?

How much stack do you have? Note that there are separate stack parameters for shell and WB applications. Try increasing the stack value.

If possible, try experimenting with fullscreen/window modes.

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:34 pm
by Ribdevil
My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:52 pm
by Raziel
Ribdevil wrote:My System is :
AmigaOne X5000
AmigaOS 4.1 FE prerelease
AMD Radeon R9-270 1Gb
RAM 4 GB

After the star WB shows 1,776 Gb Free RAM and 219 Kb Free Video Ram

I try incresed the stack, but same results.

:(

Did you maybe mean 218 MB Gfx Ram?
If not, there's your problem, with 219 KB no game will run ... for long, if ever

I just tried "Beret" and it works fine.

Finished the first level with everything collected.

The only thing that is special about this game is that it's probing my catweasel for joysticks...i don't have any, but it keeps polling it which produces a little "hiccup" in the audio playback all 15 seconds or so (annyoing)...maybe that's what causing it for you to crash?

Re: Beret freeze

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:49 pm
by Ribdevil
Yes, 218 Mb, my fault.
Beret now works, increase the stack, and now it works correctly, but I still have problems with "freedroidrpg".

Thanks for the answers.

A greeting.

Virginio