Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem [SOLVED]

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem [SOLVED]

Postby nubechecorre » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:28 pm

Ok, i do not know if this is the right place to post my problem, so if it isn't feel free to block it or move it somewhere..

This is my configuration:

Amiga 1200 + Blizzard PPC 603+ 210Mhz 256MbRam
Mediator TX (6 Slot PCI)
Radeon 9250 PCI 128Mb Video Ram
SoundBlaster PCI
Ethernet Card (OS4 Compatible and Working! :-D)
Hard Drive Western Digital PATA Caviar Blue 500Gb

OK so here is the problem:

I have formatted and partitioned my hard drive all and entirely under Amiga OS 4.1u2. I have created the two boot partitions with FFS (i used the one included in the Amiga OS 4.1u2 CD) and made them bootable, one for OS4 and one for OS 3.9.

I do not why, but when i boot Amiga OS 4.1, everything is fine and i can see and browse both boot partitions (OS4 and OS 3.9). When i boot the 3.9 a requester told me that Volume Amiga OS 3.9 is not validated..

Do you know why? and do you have some hints to investigate the problem? maybe i have to use sfs for both partitions? or only for Amiga OS 3.9?

Thanks for the reply,

Regards,
Last edited by nubechecorre on Tue May 01, 2012 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby Slayer » Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:04 pm

Lets get the obvious out of the way

Are you cold booting between running each version of AmigaOS from its respective partition?
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby nubechecorre » Sat Apr 21, 2012 2:07 pm

yes and i created a boot disk to boot directly the Amiga OS 3.9, as the Amiga OS 4.1 boot partition has an higher priority. In this way i can simply switch on the Amiga with the floppy disk inserted and it runs straight to Amiga OS 3.9.. Sometimes the workbench screen appears, but without the system icon and with the system locked. Sometimes a requester appears and tell me that the Volume Amiga OS 3.9 is not validated.

When i switch on the Amiga without the floppy disk inserted into DF0:, Amiga OS 4.1 loads without problems and run smoothly :-)

My guess is that maybe the filesystem, under Amiga OS 3.9, is not fully supported (I use FFS, the one included in the AOS 4.1 CD, as i formatted and partitioned the entire hd under AOS4), but it is just a guess..

Maybe should i try sfs ?
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby Calgor » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:47 pm

Does it work if you cold boot into OS3.9? (Yes, you would need to twice go into early startup to manually select that partition). If that works, then the problem would probably be your boot floppy.

You sure you have the correct 68k version of FFS in the RDB?

What version of FFS do you have in the RDB and what version of scsi.device for the IDE port your HDD is on?

I boot from hard disk into FFS OS3.9 and SFS/01 OS3.9 just fine. Not tried the boot floppy but don't see why it wouldn't work. But then my HDD was originally setup under OS3.9 HDToolBox and then updated from Media Toolbox within OS4.1.
Amiga 4000T: CSPPC 604e@233/060@50 146MB RAM/CVPPC/Mediator/Radeon 256MB/Realtek 8029AS/TerraTec Solo1-N/Picasso IV (Paloma Pablo Concierto)/Deneb/ZorRAM 256MB/Indivision AGA MKII/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u4/OS3.9BB2
AmigaONE X1000: Nemo 2.1 PA6T-1682M@1.8 2GB RAM/Radeon HD 4770 512MB/Catweasel MK4+/Audigy 2 ZS/Realtek 8139D/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u5
User avatar
Calgor
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby nubechecorre » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:43 pm

i'll try without the boot floppy (I did it to avoid entering the early-startup menu twice).. All my hd was formatted and partitioned under Amiga OS 4.1 (it was the first os installed into my hard drive).

I use the FFS included in the Amiga OS 4.1CD and AFAIK it is 68k and it should be compatible also with Amiga OS 3.9..

Btw, i'll check the boot floppy and see if there is something wrong with it ;)

thanks for the hints and tips :)
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby nubechecorre » Tue May 01, 2012 2:12 am

I tried without the boot floppy but still i have the same problem.. it hangs up at startup.. maybe some tool, under amiga os 4.1, can help me to fix the boot partition? or maybe should I change the filesystem?
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby Calgor » Tue May 01, 2012 7:54 pm

Did you check that your maxtransfer for OS3.9 partition is not greater than 0x1fe00?
Is your 3.9 boot partition within the first 4GB and is smaller than 2GB?

Based on the inconsistent errors you are getting with OS3.9 can't narrow it down any further. Would be worthwhile trying SFS 1.279 68k version and putting it in RDB and formatting that partition and installing OS3.9 there.

But what I don't understand is why you are having problems when using the boot floppy and the OS3.9 CD. Doesn't that work properly to boot into workbench running off the CD? (disregarding the state of your hard disk partitions - I installed OS4.1 using SFS so I can also see it from OS3.9 )
Amiga 4000T: CSPPC 604e@233/060@50 146MB RAM/CVPPC/Mediator/Radeon 256MB/Realtek 8029AS/TerraTec Solo1-N/Picasso IV (Paloma Pablo Concierto)/Deneb/ZorRAM 256MB/Indivision AGA MKII/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u4/OS3.9BB2
AmigaONE X1000: Nemo 2.1 PA6T-1682M@1.8 2GB RAM/Radeon HD 4770 512MB/Catweasel MK4+/Audigy 2 ZS/Realtek 8139D/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u5
User avatar
Calgor
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby nubechecorre » Tue May 01, 2012 9:14 pm

Did you check that your maxtransfer for OS3.9 partition is not greater than 0x1fe00?
Is your 3.9 boot partition within the first 4GB and is smaller than 2GB?


I have 2 boot partitions:

DH0 - AOS 4.1 - 3Gb
DH1 - AOS 3.9 - 400Mb

so, yes, it is under (>) the 4Gb and yes my max transfer is 1EF00 (it is all in capital letter and i am not able to write it in lowercase)

Based on the inconsistent errors you are getting with OS3.9 can't narrow it down any further. Would be worthwhile trying SFS 1.279 68k version and putting it in RDB and formatting that partition and installing OS3.9 there.


To install sfs, can I use the one included into Amiga OS 4.1CD?

But what I don't understand is why you are having problems when using the boot floppy and the OS3.9 CD. Doesn't that work properly to boot into workbench running off the CD? (disregarding the state of your hard disk partitions - I installed OS4.1 using SFS so I can also see it from OS3.9 )


Yes, it works, i can boot from the emergency floppy disk created from Amiga OS 3.9 and AOS 3.9 CD. The problem is that i am not able to boot from my Amiga OS 3.9 boot partition.. Everytime i try it hangs up.. But, i can see it and browse it, without problems, under Amiga OS 4.1..

So i guess that the best solution or the best try is to use SFS?..
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem

Postby nbache » Tue May 01, 2012 10:30 pm

nubechecorre wrote:I use the FFS included in the Amiga OS 4.1CD and AFAIK it is 68k and it should be compatible also with Amiga OS 3.9.
Just to make sure we're not missing anything obvious here: There are several different incarnations of FFS on the CD. Where was the one you used - which path on the CD?

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1273
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Amiga OS 3.9 + Amiga OS 4.1 Update4 Boot Problem [SOLVED

Postby nubechecorre » Tue May 01, 2012 10:32 pm

ok I found the problem.. for some strange reason, the CD0: device hadn't the executable flag (in the tooltype) so the system hanged up at the boot.. now everything is fine and working :-)

Thanks to all! :-)
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse
User avatar
nubechecorre
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:28 am
Location: Sanremo

Next

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests