Radeon from elbox

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Radeon from elbox

Postby tommysammy » Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:53 am

Is there any support from Hyperion planned?
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network
User avatar
tommysammy
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:03 pm
Location: Isselburg,Germany

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby Hans-Joerg Frieden » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:40 am

tommysammy wrote:Is there any support from Hyperion planned?


Please elaborate...?
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:52 pm

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby kas1e » Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:21 pm

@tommysammy
Elbox and Amikit its just companys which sold standard radeons, without any "amiga-changes". As aos4 have support of radeon9000/9250, then any radeon9000/9250 will works, and does not matter where you will buy it. Amikit and Elbox there not play any major role, they just give you easy way to found those cards (as they already hard to find in standart PC shops).

In reality your 2 topics about elbox/amikit radeons should be just one : "which model of radeon cards support amigaos4 currently". And answer will be full list of supported cards, and you will just check if elbox and amikit give you those cards (and they of course give you supported ones, because it will make no sense to sold cards in amiga shops, which not supported by drivers).
kas1e
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:56 am

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby tommysammy » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:45 pm

I have bought a Radeon 9200 with 256 MB from elbox like some friends from a1k.
Now we have installed Os4.1 Classic
All the cards from elbox doesn`t work.
There are big gfx errors.
Now elbox had send us a new pci.library 10.0 and a new radeon.card driver.
I have now a picture under Os4.1 Classic but:
Warp3D doesn`t work
Compostion Engine doesn`t work
I can see only 8MB from my Radeon 256MB
So question again.
Will Hyperion make a native Radeon driver for the Radeon Cards from elbox?

@Kas1e i cannot build in a radeon from amigakit,because there is only support for the Mediator SX and TX.I have a LT4 That is the problem
I want use Os4.1 Classic with Warp 3D and Composition Engine,because my Voodoo 3000 is to slow for that
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network
User avatar
tommysammy
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:03 pm
Location: Isselburg,Germany

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby Hans-Joerg Frieden » Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:52 pm

tommysammy wrote:Warp3D doesn`t work
Compostion Engine doesn`t work
I can see only 8MB from my Radeon 256MB


No surprise. Part of the Compositing and Warp3D has been moved into ATIRadeon.chip. Trying to use a 68k pci.library driver on top of AmigaOS 4's own PCI support is a sure way to shoot yourself in the foot. The best thing you can expect from this is crashes.

You probably only see 8 MB so that the card avoids bank switching.

Will Hyperion make a native Radeon driver for the Radeon Cards from elbox?


Elbox doesn't make Radeon cards. The initialization of the card depends on the BIOS of the card. Some cards do not work, and it appears that this is one of them. We might re-visit this issue before the next update, but it is difficult to support some of the Radeons out there. Before anyone remarks that they work under AmigaOS 3.x, the problem is (in part) related to the PowerPC, or rather, to the way that the BlizzardPPC connects to the system. Some cards have timing issues that make them work under 68k due to the slower access, but fail to work on the PowerPC. On the Amiga 4000, you can mostly work around this problem by setting the Waitstate jumper. Unfortunately, this doesn't exist on the A1200 Mediator.

It *might* be an issue with the reset of the cards. Does it show up in ShowConfig?
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:52 pm

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby tommysammy » Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:37 am

My Radeon works fine under Os3.9
Ok ,there is no Warp3D
My Mediator PCI1200 have also "Wait".There is a Jumper.I use this

This show me Showconfig

PROCESSOR: CPU 68060/68060fpu/68060mmu
CUSTOM CHIPS: AA NTSC Alice (id=$0033), AA Lisa (id=$00F8)
VERS: Kickstart version 40.68, Exec version 40.99, Disk version 45.3
RAM: Node type $A, Attributes $505 (FAST), at $70000000-$7FF7FFFF (255.5 meg)
Node type $A, Attributes $2005 (FAST), at $82000000-$8FEFFFFF (223.0 meg)
Node type $A, Attributes $703 (CHIP), at $1000-$1FFFFF (~2.0 meg)
BOARDS:
Board (Index Information Ltd): Prod=2206/32($89E/$20) (@$EA0000 128K)
Board (Index Information Ltd): Prod=2206/160($89E/$A0) (@$200000 8meg)
Board + ROM (HD?) (phase 5): Prod=8512/110($2140/$6E) (@$F00C34 128K)
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network
User avatar
tommysammy
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:03 pm
Location: Isselburg,Germany

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby Hans-Joerg Frieden » Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:13 pm

This show me Showconfig


This is a 68k ShowConfig. I meant an AmigaOS 4 ShowConfig.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:52 pm

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby tommysammy » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:17 pm

Hans-Joerg Frieden wrote:
This show me Showconfig


This is a 68k ShowConfig. I meant an AmigaOS 4 ShowConfig.



No problem will give you this tomorrow
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network
User avatar
tommysammy
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:03 pm
Location: Isselburg,Germany

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby tommysammy » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:03 pm

PROCESSOR: 603e
EMULATED: CPU 68020/68881fpu
CUSTOM CHIPS: AA NTSC Alice (id=$0033), AA Lisa (id=$00F8)
VERSION: Kickstart version 53.16, Exec version 53.16, Disk version 53.2
LEGACY RAM: Node type $A, Attributes $703 (CHIP), at $3000-$1FFFFF (~2.0 meg)
ZORRO BOARDS:
Board (ELBOX): Prod=2206/32($89E/$20) (@$EA0000 128K)
Board (ELBOX): Prod=2206/160($89E/$A0) (@$200000 8meg)
PCI BOARDS:
Bus Device Funct. Manuf. Product Status
0x00 0x00 0x00 0x121A 0x0005 working
0x00 0x01 0x00 0x1002 0x5960 working
0x00 0x02 0x00 0x10EC 0x8029 working
0x00 0x03 0x00 0x1274 0x5880 working
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network
User avatar
tommysammy
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:03 pm
Location: Isselburg,Germany

Re: Radeon from elbox

Postby Hans-Joerg Frieden » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:56 am

tommysammy wrote:0x00 0x01 0x00 0x1002 0x5960 workingg


Hm, so the card is recognized, that's weird.
Can you make a serial log at debug level 7 from the boot process? Thank you.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:52 pm

Next

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests