OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:10 pm

will try this later and will post the result. ;)
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:00 pm

i have four kicklayoutfiles in sys:kickstarts..
seems that os4 detect the amigahardware and choosed automaticaly the right one.. :?:
however i deleted the kicklayoutfiles (1200,A3000,A4000T) that i dont need and the machine still boots..
that means my os4 use the right kicklayout and the right scsi.device driver..

the problem must be somewhere else

greets flare
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:07 pm

hi,
here is a debug while booting from scsi ;)
dont know how to post the full log..
here is the end of it


Code: Select all
cybppc.device: target 4 now wide 1
Sending sync request to target 4
sync msg in: FF 01 03 01 0C 08
cybppc.device: target 4 now synchronous, period=50ns, offset=8
siopng sync: siop_sxfr 28, siop_scntl3 9D
Phase mismatch: REQ not asserted! 21 dsp F411E8
[_impl_FindResident] Found resident module strap
cmdread_done: read blocksize 512

[HAL_DfltTrapHandler] *** Warning: Fatal exception in task 0x3FFAB240 (exec.task, etask = 0x9FFF4000) at IP = 0x0882A3B8
Dump of context at 0x0000ACA0
Trap type: Machine check exception
Machine State (raw): 0x00041040
Machine State (verbose): [Super]

Temporary stack trace:
#0: in module Kickstart/kernel.debug+0x0002A3B8 (0x0882A3B8)
#1: in module Kickstart/kernel.debug+0x0002B1F4 (0x0882B1F4)
#2: in module Kickstart/kernel.debug+0x00044E20 (0x08844E20)
#3: in module Kickstart/kernel.debug+0x0002F86C (0x0882F86C)
#4: in module Kickstart/cybppc.device.kmod+0x00002330 (0x08C13C50)
#5: in module Kickstart/kernel.debug+0x0002D8D8 (0x0882D8D8)

Crashed task: exec.task (0x3FFAB240)
 0: 0882A5C4 3FD77E60 FFFFFFFF 0000004F 3FD77EA4 0881C2A8 0000004F FFFFFFFF
 8: 80000001 00DFF09A 8000000C 9FFF4160 59F33F93 00000000 09047AC0 FFFFFFFF
16: 20000000 3FF5B580 10000001 09010000 09070780 09002578 3FD77ED0 09080000
24: 00000004 09080000 09010000 091C203A 20000000 09070DCE 09070DCE 3FD77EA4
CR: 59F33F99   XER: E000FF7F  CTR: 08821A9C  LR: 0882A5C4
[HAL_Alert] ALERT! ALERT! Alert number is 0x80000002
*** Error: Kernel stack underrun!
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby danbeaver » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:39 pm

Can't tell you anything from debug printout as the Beta-testers know that stuff

I can tell you that OS 4.1 will build a default KickLayout if none is found, but during the Install Process OS 4.1 determines your computer hardware and picks the model (A4000 vs A4000T) and you can hand build it too. Mine has only the devices present and used in my computer and no comments for quicker parsing. It DOES matter, so if you delete the others leave at least an original version of your Amiga model. You may also want to hand check it for accurate files. I have left out devices and they become invisible, and added libraries like the Elbox PCI.library v 10 to see if they work.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Calgor » Tue Oct 23, 2012 1:22 pm

@ Flare

Can we please take it from the top? I believe we are trying to delve deep without knowing whether your basic setup is correct.

Please answer the questions from my previous posts (dealing with SCSI Chain and HDD RDB and partition setup):
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1342&start=10#p16127
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1342&start=10#p16132

Also, do you still have your Repulse card installed? What is the firmware version of your CSPPC? And do you have termination power being supplied from the Acard (CSPPC I think can supply it but safer from one of your devices too given the age of the card)? Do you have both ends of your SCSI chain terminated with Active or SE equivalent terminators? It might also be good if you post your showconfig command output so we can confirm the hardware installed. Hope it's not too many questions.

Both mine and danbeaver's setups are quite complex (I use Acard 7726Q (was 7720UW) adapter for IDE HDD, Acard 7720UW for DVDRW, see my sig for all the hardware installed) - I was able to make it work with OS4.1 Update 2 (original CD I think, maybe what you are using), Update 3 and Update 4. I did once have a problem with Media Toolbox, but that was sorted out by reinstalling the RDB using Workbench 3.1 HDToolBox - which you could try from your A4000D booting from the floppy.

P.S. Guessing from your debug log, your SCSI device is ID 4, wide, synchronous, speed is set to I think ~20MB/s (period 50ns, offset 8). "Phase mismatch: REQ not asserted!" does not sound good. But of course if your hardware SCSI chain is not properly setup you can get errors at higher speeds, hence my questions on your SCSI chain and terminations. As mentioned previously, Acard firmware could potentially be an issue too but if it works with OS3.x I would suppose it less likely.
Amiga 4000T: CSPPC 604e@233/060@50 146MB RAM/CVPPC/Mediator/Radeon 256MB/Realtek 8029AS/TerraTec Solo1-N/Picasso IV (Paloma Pablo Concierto)/Deneb/ZorRAM 256MB/Indivision AGA MKII/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u4/OS3.9BB2
AmigaONE X1000: Nemo 2.1 PA6T-1682M@1.8 2GB RAM/Radeon HD 4770 512MB/Catweasel MK4+/Audigy 2 ZS/Realtek 8139D/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u5
User avatar
Calgor
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:57 pm

Hi,

I breaked it down to a Basicsystem.

A4000 CSPPC210MHZ Firmware V.44.69
Kick3.1
Fastram 16MB Chip 2Mb CPU-RAM 128MB on CSPPC
No addional Cards installed.
Buster 9
Scsi Chain
Active Terminator---CSPPC----Acard7720UW / CF Card ----- Active Terminator.
Term Power supplied from acard7720


Picture is showing setup after test ( with cards installed )
image001.jpg
(128.74 KiB) Downloaded 3340 times


OS4.1 is installed on IDE Harddisk connect to the IDE Port.
CD Rom is also connected to the IDE Port as Slave.

Now my Problem.

I connected a CF Card to the SCSI Port with 7720UW acard adapter.
CF Card has NO RDB inside...
Amiga Boots fine from ide into OS4.1

My next step is to create a RDB for the cf-card with SFS/00 and do a restart
image005.jpg
(129.76 KiB) Downloaded 3340 times


System crashs after reboot as before
(It will also crash when i use ffs instead of SFS..)



I deleted the rdb from the cf-card with my pc again ...
Amiga boots fine cause no rdb installed..

this time i only make a partition ( added no filesystem to the rdb )
image008.jpg
(129.15 KiB) Downloaded 3340 times


save all setting do a reboot and amiga boots fine.
i can format the new disk.

But what is the problem with SFS/FFS ???
I tryed real scsi harddisks also .. same problem
I also noticed that when i use mediatoolbox and click on scsi.device the system crashs also.
The last message from mediatoolbox is checking RDB

Greets
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Calgor » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:22 am

You SCSI chain setup seems fine. My Cybppc is 44.67 but surely others are using 44.69. Probably remove any RDB scan (if set) for your CDROMs from the CSPPC menu.

From memory, you might need to hit the return key after you enter the dostype when you add a new filesystem.

Is it possible for you, after installing SFS\00 into the RDB, to take a screenshot of the filesystem part in media toolbox, showing the DosType and filesize of the SFS filesystem in the filesystem section? Once I had updated SFS using MediaToolbox and it corrupted my RDB and my computer no longer booted.

If that screenshot looks good, could you then switch off your computer, then boot it up using Workbench 3.1 and take a screenshot of the filesystem section in HDToolBox, again showing the SFS\00 dostype and file size.

You could also try to install in RDB SFS1.279 although I doubt it will change anything given you have the same problem only installing FFS in the RDB? (I previously used 1.277 with OS4.0 and OS4.1u2 with no problems): http://strohmayer.org/sfs/

Other thing to remember: Since you have 2 HDDs connected (one IDE, one ACard SCSI-IDE), then (someone correct me if I am wrong) the first hard drive that has its RDB read needs to have the correct filesystem in the RDB for whichever partition you boot off first. I usually install the same filesystems into both hard drive's RDB. Hopefully someone can clarify. It would be simpler to test with the CF card as the only HDD to avoid any potential issues due to this.

In situations such as this, it can help to have a multi boot system of OS3.x and OS4.1 combined with a backup of a working RDB which can be installed using a floppy. This means that if either operating system has a problem, the other one can be used to assist, along with recovery from a bad/incompatible RDB.

I gather MediaToolBox does not crash for you with no RDB installed? (given you used it to install FFS and SFS)

Side note: An alternative for you, for testing, is to use WB3.1 or OS3.9 HDToolBox to install the RDB and partition your drive, just to see if the behaviour would be different - I did initially install my drive using OS3.9 but have subsequently successfully used MediaToolBox (Update 4) to install another HDD. I only used Update 2 to view or make modifications to my exisitng RDB.
Amiga 4000T: CSPPC 604e@233/060@50 146MB RAM/CVPPC/Mediator/Radeon 256MB/Realtek 8029AS/TerraTec Solo1-N/Picasso IV (Paloma Pablo Concierto)/Deneb/ZorRAM 256MB/Indivision AGA MKII/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u4/OS3.9BB2
AmigaONE X1000: Nemo 2.1 PA6T-1682M@1.8 2GB RAM/Radeon HD 4770 512MB/Catweasel MK4+/Audigy 2 ZS/Realtek 8139D/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u5
User avatar
Calgor
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:06 am

Hi Calgor,
sure i press Return after setting the DOS-Type
without pressing return the value wouldnt change to SFS/00 ;)
I also use the same FS in first and second disk.

Mediatoolbox doesnt crash when no rdb is installed.

i noticed following yesterday.

I load os4.1 Setup from CD..
All harddisk are empty ( scsi and ide )
I open mediatoolbox and add a rdb the right way.
i save the setting and os4 ask me to reboot.
i cklick no and start mediatoolbox again.

it crashs on checking rdb.. dont matter if i use ide or scsi.

I can send you a log from this if you want.

BTW i can connect the IDE Drive to my A1200PPC and mediatoolbox works well ..
It means that the RDB is right..

Greets
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Calgor » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:56 am

Hi Flare,

You can attach the logs to your post.

It is possible there is a bug in the older MediaToolbox on certain hardware configurations... which is why I have asked a couple of times for screenshots of your filesystems installed in the RDB including Dostype and filesize (and version) just to confirm it all looks ok. I had said that I had RDB problems for such a reason (multiple tries to install RDB, had to use os3.1 to fix). A RDB working in one computer does not mean it will always work in another.

So please:
- screenshots of your RDB including filesystems and partitions (also include the screen when you install the RDB showing last lun id etc) from OS4.1 mediatoolbox and OS3.1 HDToolbox
- try using os3.1 (and/or os3.9) hdtoolbox to install rdb and filesystems and see if you can install os4.1 on that (i.e. bypassing os4.1 mediatoolbox which you are having problems with) -> this I think you already tried initially but os4.1 would stop at the splash screen and you provided the logs? Is this correct?

Would be good if you had another Acard adapter - did you try flashing the firmware to the same version I have? You could additionally also set the HDD to not be synchronous in the RDB setup (to slow down transfer speed).
Amiga 4000T: CSPPC 604e@233/060@50 146MB RAM/CVPPC/Mediator/Radeon 256MB/Realtek 8029AS/TerraTec Solo1-N/Picasso IV (Paloma Pablo Concierto)/Deneb/ZorRAM 256MB/Indivision AGA MKII/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u4/OS3.9BB2
AmigaONE X1000: Nemo 2.1 PA6T-1682M@1.8 2GB RAM/Radeon HD 4770 512MB/Catweasel MK4+/Audigy 2 ZS/Realtek 8139D/OS4.xBETA/OS4.1u5
User avatar
Calgor
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: OS4.1 Booting from CD failed

Postby Flare » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:04 am

problem solved... ;)
someone did an upgrade from my csppc to 366 mhz cpu and scsi problem is also gone.. :D
im happy now..

thx for help
Flare
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:41 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests