OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Re: OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

Postby JohnFante » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:41 pm

Well here are the results of the tests so far. It looks like it is the Radeon that somehow causes the problem. I get corruption with only the graphicscard installed - with or without 3D enabled. The card is a Radeon 9200 with 256MB bought with the Mediator directly from Elbox.

The problem in short is that I get graphics corruption when I resieze/move the window of OWB (both MUI version and the latest Reaction version). OWB is the only program that I have really noticed this with. I have not experienced anything similar on OS3.9.

I have recorded three movies on my iPhone and uploaded them to dropbox to illustrate. I must warn in advance that the movies are rather large. Think the best way to play tem is to download them and play them locally.

I am aware that the constant resiezing I do is not "normal" behavior but the result are the same if I do it over a longer period of time.

With only the Radeon and a ethernet card (in the correct position according to the FAQ).
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Error%2 ... hernet.MOV

With only the Radeon (also in the correct) position.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Screen% ... 20only.MOV

With 3D enabled and only the Radeon.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Error%2 ... hernet.MOV

I will test some more with other programs/other position of the cards in the weekend.

Anything special I can do to get closer to a solution/finding the specific cause of the problem. Unfortunately I do not have other PCI graphics cards so I can not test with another card.
X5000 :-)
User avatar
JohnFante
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:48 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

Postby DarrenHD » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:03 pm

JohnFante wrote:Well here are the results of the tests so far. It looks like it is the Radeon that somehow causes the problem. I get corruption with only the graphicscard installed - with or without 3D enabled. The card is a Radeon 9200 with 256MB bought with the Mediator directly from Elbox.

The problem in short is that I get graphics corruption when I resieze/move the window of OWB (both MUI version and the latest Reaction version). OWB is the only program that I have really noticed this with. I have not experienced anything similar on OS3.9.

I have recorded three movies on my iPhone and uploaded them to dropbox to illustrate. I must warn in advance that the movies are rather large. Think the best way to play tem is to download them and play them locally.

I am aware that the constant resiezing I do is not "normal" behavior but the result are the same if I do it over a longer period of time.

With only the Radeon and a ethernet card (in the correct position according to the FAQ).
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Error%2 ... hernet.MOV

With only the Radeon (also in the correct) position.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Screen% ... 20only.MOV

With 3D enabled and only the Radeon.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/139090/Error%2 ... hernet.MOV

I will test some more with other programs/other position of the cards in the weekend.

Anything special I can do to get closer to a solution/finding the specific cause of the problem. Unfortunately I do not have other PCI graphics cards so I can not test with another card.


I think I have the same (or very similar) card from Elbox that also reports 256MB, I will see if I can replicate this on the weekend.

Strange though, it looks like the video memory is not refreshing/updating, just overwriting itself and getting corrupted.

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

Postby JohnFante » Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:56 am

DarrenHD wrote:I think I have the same (or very similar) card from Elbox that also reports 256MB, I will see if I can replicate this on the weekend.

Strange though, it looks like the video memory is not refreshing/updating, just overwriting itself and getting corrupted.

Darren


Have you been able to replicate the error?

I have tried with other programs but so far I do not get the error on other programs OWB. I will try with some more memory hungry ones in the comming days.

Thank you in advance!
X5000 :-)
User avatar
JohnFante
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:48 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

Postby JohnFante » Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:13 pm

The problem is related to my graphics card.

I bought a Saphire Radeon 9250 - 128 MB and with that card there are no corruptions.

If anybody in the development team is interrested in borrowing my Radeon 9200 to fix the problem they are welcome. :-)
X5000 :-)
User avatar
JohnFante
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:48 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: OWB gives screen corruption on Radeon + Mediator 4000Di

Postby DarrenHD » Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:15 am

Well glad you got the Sapphire card working. In fact during testing we did use Sapphire cards - and as you have found out they do work :) Although the 256MB version was/is segmented so only 128MB is available.

Sorry the Elbox card didn't work for you - earlier 256MB Radeon's from elbox did work - I am using one in my A4000 as I type this - it's what we tested with - and it works. They must have changed cards.

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Previous

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron