Swap partition fail here..

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:21 pm

Image

it is
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:39 pm

Ok i understood no one can help... but i make some tests and i report my results

If i check the flag auto mount under hdtoolbox the 68k side fail yellow guru and some time ramlib crashes.
The Os3.9 become really SLOOOW and unstable.
The Sysspeed report the 060 /50 is 1,92 mips :-o
I have to enter to hdtoolbox uncheck the automount of swap ... boot the machine after entering in os4.1 i have to check this flag on in media tool box reboot and the swap start working...

Probably is a DMA problem?.....
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby Slayer » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:04 am

The bottom line for me would be to get the actual system (including a functioning swap) up and running with the very basic configuration, then, and only then can you always return to a status quo that works. Otherwise we're going to be here forever in a day trying to anticipate and guess what works with what but only if this or that is removed or plugged in to that hole etc etc etc

Strip the machine back to the PPC card and an UW Scsi HD and a DVDRom OR a PPC Controller an IDE and CDRom attached to the MB etc, well, you get my drift? ;)

If I've missed something and you've already established this then you really need to start at the last time you have swap working and add and tinker from that point on
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby danbeaver » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:07 am

Slayer is correct. This is the way to pin down the problem. I would do a clean install of 4.1.2 and check for SWAP partitions problems with dead, cold reboots between each of the updates.

Then try to see what you are installing on the HDD that corrupts your booting.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:49 am

ok i will try to start a new installation of 4.1.2 for classic and see the result .... i will report it step by step
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:16 pm

Test 1:
Aos 4.1.2 installed on OLD ide HD 1.5gb (Ide internal A4000)
Swap active on the SSD (cyberppc.device)
"Everything seems working" without problems...
lets check if i made some updates of the system
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby ddni » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:10 pm

Interesting read.
Good that you got a basic system running. Now, I await the next installment of your mini soap opera!
User avatar
ddni
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:54 pm

ddni wrote:Interesting read.
Good that you got a basic system running. Now, I await the next installment of your mini soap opera!

ahahahaha :)

Ok lets write.


all Os updates done.
Amiupdate too Done!

Everything running good and faster , the system now goes in full acceleration video mode and radeon use the 256 mb on it.
but ... im thinking ... how is possible ?
if i install on the SSD the Os the swap fail and the system become totally unstable some feature of the os are not working..
I have to use the scsi.device 4 ever?
Question 2 how to know how much is the page used by the swap?
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby danbeaver » Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:20 pm

This is an answer, but not to the question you asked; if you use a Z3 RAM expansion card (ZorRam/BigRamPlus) of 256MB, then I've found that (even when I purposefully tried) I could use up enough RAM to force use of my HDD SWAP partition.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Swap partition fail here..

Postby tlosmx » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:46 am

i will buy for sure 512 mb of Z3 ram (4 now)... Big ram plus look like isnt compatible with mediator. Zoram is the way for have more ram on my miggy.
thanks
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests