Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby checker » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:20 pm

Hi,

I just upgraded my radeon 9250 with 128 MB to a 256 MB version.
I can boot into os3.9 without any problem but if i try to boot os4.1 i get a guru.

here´s a pic of the guru: http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/3213/lb5lsiqo_jpg.htm

I have the latest version os 4.1 update 6 including all updates.

if i reinstall the 128 MB Radeon everything works perfect.

Here is my sytemsetup:

Amiga 1200
Mediator SX
Blizzard PPC 68060/50 and 330 MHZ PPC with 256 MB Ram
Radeon 9250 with 256 MB Ram
Soundblaster 128
10 MBit Network
checker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:16 pm

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby Raziel » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:39 pm

Did you try the "new" radeon in another computer...pc maybe, to see if the card is working alright?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby checker » Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:09 am

Under Amiga os 3.9 the Card is working perfect so i dont think the Card is faulty.
checker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:16 pm

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby Raziel » Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:27 am

checker wrote:Under Amiga os 3.9 the Card is working perfect so i dont think the Card is faulty.

OK
I'm a little rusty when it comes to classic...is OS3.9 able to use the whole 256 MB of that graphic card?

I wonder if maybe not the card per se is faulty but part of it's memory?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby tlosmx » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:13 am

What configuration you have ?
i had this problem and fixed after many many tests and tricks :P
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby tlosmx » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:41 pm

Oh sorry i didnt see you wrote it... According to my experiences disable the swap partition... And you will have radeon working with 256mb :)
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby danbeaver » Fri Apr 05, 2013 1:14 pm

I'm afraid it is a bit more complicated than you would expect; there are many different Radeon 92XX boards out there. Elbox sold many that worked with their driver/PCI.library, but did not work in OS 4.1, this is because the native OS 4.1 support was written in PPC code and is completely different and independent from Elbox. Elbox sold many cards themselves a while back that did not work under 4.1 and then offered a kludge (PCI.library v10) to compensate.

Second, the Mediator needs to be set correctly for the 256MB card.

Thirdly, it is quite possible to run out of AutoConfig memory space if you have too many cards on board (512mb of ZorRam/BigRam+ and a Radeon 92Xx 256mb card did this to me).

Best solution: 1) give us a complete list of all of your hardware and a printout of your AutoConfig space usage.
2) make sure the Mediator jumpers are correct.
3) return your present 9250 256mb card and buy a 9200 directly from Elbox with instructions that it is for use in OS 4.1 .
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby tlosmx » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:33 pm

danbeaver wrote:I'm afraid it is a bit more complicated than you would expect; there are many different Radeon 92XX boards out there. Elbox sold many that worked with their driver/PCI.library, but did not work in OS 4.1, this is because the native OS 4.1 support was written in PPC code and is completely different and independent from Elbox. Elbox sold many cards themselves a while back that did not work under 4.1 and then offered a kludge (PCI.library v10) to compensate.

Second, the Mediator needs to be set correctly for the 256MB card.

Thirdly, it is quite possible to run out of AutoConfig memory space if you have too many cards on board (512mb of ZorRam/BigRam+ and a Radeon 92Xx 256mb card did this to me).

Best solution: 1) give us a complete list of all of your hardware and a printout of your AutoConfig space usage.
2) make sure the Mediator jumpers are correct.
3) return your present 9250 256mb card and buy a 9200 directly from Elbox with instructions that it is for use in OS 4.1 .


I dont know mate with amiga 4000 :
winsize seto to 256 for have the radeon at 128mb (jumper set 2x 128 on the radeon) and 128mb on cyberstorm ppc plus 512mb of Zoram and Os4.1 is running well. <-- os 3.9 dont boot because of the swap config and the radeon
winsize seto to 512mb for have the radeon at 256mb (jumper set 1x 256 on the radeon) and 128mb on cyberstorm ppc plus 256mb of Zoram and os 4.1 running well <--- this is the best setup for have the os3.9 working too
winsize set to 512mb for have the radeon at 256mb and 128mb on cyberstorm ppc plus Swap 512mb max partition on cyberppc.device but os4 have to boot from scsi.device or be a guru persistent of the kickstart rom

this is my experience with my configuration :)
I hope the hyperion will made me use my Zoram is executable and not swap ... not important if it is slow but the important it is executable ... on my system i have only 60 mb of executable memory and the 80% of the software dont run or crash.
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby danbeaver » Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:18 am

This is with an A4000T, no swap partition as I didn't use it, one ZorRam because no more was needed, several Radeon 9200/9250's tried to see the differences and some are flat out not recognised with OS 4.1 drivers. Please reference the complete details in my two threads. Both of my A4000Ts are identical. Both are dual boot 3.9/4.1 systems which work fine. ZorRam/BigRam+ will not become system RAM as they are almost 3 times as slow as CSPPC RAM.You can get over 100 MB free 4.1 RAM with careful planning (again see the two long threads).

Careful following of the forums shows that on the Classic Amiga using Black listing, there are more like only 10% full failures on post OS 2.04 programs (DSI errors aside); however more than 50% of OS 1.X programs fail in my experience.

Your mileage may vary.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Radeon upgrade to 256 MB os4.1 wont boot

Postby TMA-Nosoucy » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:44 pm

Hello,
I have some problem with my radeon 9250 256Megs.
The problem is posed by X86emu.resource.kmod. Probably BIOS configuration?
Full memory adress 256 Megs on Radeon 9250 are $80000000 to $8fffffff.
Can you fix it?

My Radeon 9200 128Megs work fine...

best regard

Lebrun Didier.

Config:
AMIGA 1200 rev2B
PPC 224Mhz, 68060 80Mhz, 256Meg ram.
Mediator TX 1200
Slot 1 : Radeon 9250 256Megs.
Slot 2 : Empty
Slot 3 : Empty
Slot 4 : Sound card FM801
Slot 5 : RTL 8029
Slot 6 : SATA card
TMA-Nosoucy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:38 pm

Next

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests