Need help for setup RTL8029

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Hanzu » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:05 pm

Getting my Amiga 4000 to internet now is just too much when I have not used Amiga with internet after 1996 or something.

I have 3 NICs plugged in RTL8029, RTL8139D and Ariadene II and I fail to understand what should I do to set up RTL8029 or Ariadne II to go online.

Local Area Network
Next
Automatic configuration
Next
Device driver and port number could not be configured automatically. Please choose them manually.
Next
(Clicking RTL8029 PCI)
Next
(changing or typing nothing and only "Try dynamic configuration" is checked)
Next
Finish
AddInterface: Could not interface "RTL8029" (Input/output error).
AddInterface failed returncode 20


What did I do wrong and is 3 NICs connected making set up too hard or even impossible?
Last edited by Hanzu on Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby thomasrapp » Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:11 pm

Does it really say TRL8029?
User avatar
thomasrapp
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:22 am

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Hanzu » Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:16 pm

thomasrapp wrote:Does it really say TRL8029?


Whoops no. RTL8029
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby danbeaver » Fri Apr 19, 2013 11:32 pm

Well, I believe you can have more than one functional NIC at a time but can I ask one question and make one suggestion?

Does the 8029 work in OS 3.9 (does it work at all)?
Could you try it as your sole NIC in the system?

As an aside, a USB NIC dongle will give better throughput, and the Ariadne II being supported by OS 4.1 and 3.9 may give better throughput overall (both are 10 Mbps cards) since the PCI lag is not present.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Hanzu » Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:09 pm

danbeaver wrote:Well, I believe you can have more than one functional NIC at a time but can I ask one question and make one suggestion?

Does the 8029 work in OS 3.9 (does it work at all)?
Could you try it as your sole NIC in the system?

As an aside, a USB NIC dongle will give better throughput, and the Ariadne II being supported by OS 4.1 and 3.9 may give better throughput overall (both are 10 Mbps cards) since the PCI lag is not present.


I have not tested 8029 at 3.9 because for that I would need some sort of tutorial what is needed to be installed to get internet working. I have not installed internet for any Amiga since 1996 or something. So it is possible 8029 is not working at all, but then again Ariadne II gave same errors in internet installation wizard as 8029, so I must be doing something wrong.

USB dongle is nice idea, but no-one is willing to sell Deneb for me and Spider II is not working in OS 4.1. So I'm running out of ideas where to plug USB dongle.

I kept 4000 running for some hours to wait for ideas for NIC issue and at some point OS 4.1 in-built screensaver fzeezed on screen refusing to exit from mouse or keyboard movements and I had to reset after which CF card which was installed as FFS failed to load the system and said Not A Dos Disk. Not sure if this is because:
a) I did not make SWAP partition since CF was so small and OS 4.1 hang while trying to pagefile with FFS partition.
b) Maybe PPC overheat if it is possible with 12cm fan blowing 1,5 cm over heatsings of PPC, 060 and SIMMs.

So now I'm trying to motivate myself trying to install OS 4.1 fourth time from the start to continue with NIC issue.

Any easy way to make copy of Amiga formatted CF cards, so if filesystems fails me again, I could use another copy?
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Spectre660 » Sun Apr 21, 2013 12:35 am

If you have a PC running Windows and a CF reader and it is not a problems to remove the CF card from the A4000 then Usb Image tool.
I use it for making backup raw images of Amga filesystem formatted devices.

http://www.alexpage.de/usb-image-tool/

Hanzu wrote:Any easy way to make copy of Amiga formatted CF cards, so if filesystems fails me again, I could use another copy?
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby nbache » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:19 am

SYS:Utilities/RawDisk might also be up to such a task.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Spectre660 » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:31 am

I have found it a bit slow and and it tended to fail on the end cylinder when I was experimenting.
Plus if you have a problem when your Amiga cant boot it is difficult to restore a rawimage backup file using that Amiga.

nbache wrote:SYS:Utilities/RawDisk might also be up to such a task.

Best regards,

Niels
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Hanzu » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:39 pm

Spectre660 wrote:If you have a PC running Windows and a CF reader and it is not a problems to remove the CF card from the A4000 then Usb Image tool.
I use it for making backup raw images of Amga filesystem formatted devices.

http://www.alexpage.de/usb-image-tool/



USB Image Tool gives following error after backup is at somewhere near 30%:

"Error!"
"Could not read from the USB device (Code: 1110)!The media in the drive may have changed"

I changed nothing and I'm using device mode (not volume mode!). Any ideas?
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: Need help for setup RTL8029

Postby Spectre660 » Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:01 pm

Could be caused by an hard error on the CF card or a problem with your reader.
If you have a spare cf card you could try formatting it on the PC to see if the reader works ok.
The Long way is to reformat your Amiga formatted CF on the PC then redo the Amiga partitioning and formatting.

Hanzu wrote:
Spectre660 wrote:If you have a PC running Windows and a CF reader and it is not a problems to remove the CF card from the A4000 then Usb Image tool.
I use it for making backup raw images of Amga filesystem formatted devices.

http://www.alexpage.de/usb-image-tool/



USB Image Tool gives following error after backup is at somewhere near 30%:

"Error!"
"Could not read from the USB device (Code: 1110)!The media in the drive may have changed"

I changed nothing and I'm using device mode (not volume mode!). Any ideas?
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1421
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Next

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests