AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha-AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt (SOLVED)

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha-AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt (SOLVED)

Postby Hanzu » Fri May 10, 2013 12:42 pm

I have finally managed to install OS4.1 Classic and want to install updates too, but
AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha, AmigaOS4.1Update4.lha, AmigaOS4.1Update5.lha and AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha report beeing corrupted when I try to Unarc them.

Here is what I have tried now:
Downloaded with Windows 7 + Firefox, moved to FTP with FileZilla and downloaded to Amiga with AmiFTP with Amazingly slow download (28000 CPS what ever that is) extracted with Unarc which says corrupt.
Downloaded with Windows 7 + Firefox, burned to DVD with ImgBrn, copied to SYS:, extracted with Unarc which says corrupt.
Extracted all updates in Windows 7 with 7zip and all extracted fine with no report beeing corrupt.
Tried also with the latest lha with same results as Unarc.
Tried also with OS3.9 side with same results as OS 4.1 Classic.

What next? Download with Windows Explorer or Chrome to see it is not Firfox that corrupts these? Or maybe again slowly with IBrowse or OWB only to find out that they do slow and bad job as AmiFTP?
Last edited by Hanzu on Fri May 10, 2013 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha - AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt

Postby ZeroG » Fri May 10, 2013 1:01 pm

The Update6 LHA should have a size of 1.014.846 bytes and the md5sum 5c755aab4015a685b1bdf83e04e004da

To check the md5sum do this in a Shell:
Code: Select all
5.Work:> md5sum AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha
5c755aab4015a685b1bdf83e04e004da  AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha
5.Work:>
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha - AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt

Postby Hanzu » Fri May 10, 2013 2:35 pm

md5sum correct in Windows 7, both downloads of Firefox and Explorer
md5sum correct in Amiga CD0: (Burnt DVD)
copying from CD0: to SYS: to Extract there results different md5sum in Amiga SYS:
Extracting from CD0: to SYS: results corruption

I'm puzzled...
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha - AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt

Postby Hanzu » Fri May 10, 2013 3:08 pm

Looks like this was SCSI chain termination issue.

Changed 50-pin SCSI-2 DVDROM (apparently with no integrated active termination) to 68-pin SCSI-3 CDROM with integrated active terminator (as stated in its documentation) and managed to extract all updated from newly burnt CD-RW.

Thank you for guiding me to question the optical storage itself!

Now I wonder how did I manage to install OS4.1 to SCSI+SSD with no active termination on BOTH ends. Maybe extracting is somehow heavier and less fault tolerant process.
A4000cr Rev D+CSPPC 233/66MHz 060+16MB 50ns+128MB 60ns+Plextor SCSI-3 CDRW+Adaptec SCSI to SATA adapter+OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 90GB+Mediator 4000 MK II+Radeon 9250 256MB +RTL8029+Terratec TTSOLO1-SL VER1.2+ZorRAM 256MB+DF0:-DF3:+Catweasel MK2 Anniversary+Indivision AGA MK II+OS3.9 & OS 4.1. RTL8139D & Terratec TT801-QD for OS3.9 only
User avatar
Hanzu
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Finland

Re: AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha-AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt (SOL

Postby ZeroG » Fri May 10, 2013 8:24 pm

Now I wonder how did I manage to install OS4.1 to SCSI+SSD with no active termination on BOTH ends. Maybe extracting is somehow heavier and less fault tolerant process.

I would do a clean install with working termination on both ends - just to be on the save side.
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: AmigaOS4.1Update3.lha-AmigaOS4.1Update6.lha corrupt (SOL

Postby danbeaver » Sat May 11, 2013 2:37 am

If your SCSI cable is short enough, then you may get by for awhile with bad termination. Sooner or later it will bite you in the arse though! It did me and it took me weeks to track it down -- very embarrassing too.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam


Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron