Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

Postby softwarefailure » Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:30 pm

(This should really be in the Shogo forum but I cannot post there)

Could somebody tell me how to get Shogo running on my A1200 PPC? The A1200 is equipped with a Blizzard PPC 240mhz, SCSI, 68060 and a BVision PPC. Latest Warp3D and WarpOS are installed. Shogo runs fine when using the software renderer but it crashes when using the hardware renderer. Note that intro and menu screens work fine using the hardware renderer but the game crashes after it has finished loading the first level, i.e. when the game has loaded the level and says "press a key to continue" and once I press the key, the following error appears:

Defiant
Program failed (error #80000004).
Wait for disk activity to finish.

And CyberGuard is also reporting a WORD-READ from $FED70972 by "Defiant".

Anybody ever had this error before? What could I try to get Shogo working with hardware acceleration?
softwarefailure
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:29 pm

Re: Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

Postby danbeaver » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:34 pm

A crash when switching to hardware but not under software render means the drivers don't support your video hardware.
User avatar
danbeaver
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam

Re: Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

Postby softwarefailure » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:28 pm

But the hardware renderer is working while in menu mode. The menu animation is much smoother with the hardware renderer than with the software one! And I'm not on any exotic video hardware but just a stock BVision PPC which should really be supported by the hardware renderer, shouldn't it?
softwarefailure
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:29 pm

Re: Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

Postby ddni » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:36 pm

Overheating or under powered on 5v?
User avatar
ddni
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Running Shogo on A1200 PPC

Postby softwarefailure » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:52 pm

Seems to have been related to CyberGuard. Once I remove CyberGuard from the User-Startup it's working fine. Issue solved.
softwarefailure
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:29 pm


Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests