Page 2 of 2

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:09 pm
by Benny
xenic wrote:
smf wrote:I did try to comment out the voodoo drivers in the kicklayout file but that resulted in that i could only use AGA screenmodes.


I don't have a classic or 2 graphics boards but you might try leaving both drivers in kicklayout and opening SYS:Prefs/ScreenMode prefs 'Monitors' tab and see if both boards are in the radio gadget at the top. If they are you might try changing the board shown in the radio button and selecting 'use' or 'save'. You could also try dragging the Vodoo icon from SYS:Devs/Monitors to SYS:Storage and reboot.


Is the combi of a Vodooo 3000 and a Radeon possible in the Mediator ?

In the Mediator manual: the winsize jumper should beclosed with Radeon or Voodoo 4 and 5 PCI graphics installed.

As you use a Voodoo3, the winsize should be open if I'm reading correctly, but you also use the above Radeon.

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:42 pm
by DarrenHD
Benny wrote:
xenic wrote:
smf wrote:I did try to comment out the voodoo drivers in the kicklayout file but that resulted in that i could only use AGA screenmodes.


I don't have a classic or 2 graphics boards but you might try leaving both drivers in kicklayout and opening SYS:Prefs/ScreenMode prefs 'Monitors' tab and see if both boards are in the radio gadget at the top. If they are you might try changing the board shown in the radio button and selecting 'use' or 'save'. You could also try dragging the Vodoo icon from SYS:Devs/Monitors to SYS:Storage and reboot.


Is the combi of a Vodooo 3000 and a Radeon possible in the Mediator ?

In the Mediator manual: the winsize jumper should beclosed with Radeon or Voodoo 4 and 5 PCI graphics installed.

As you use a Voodoo3, the winsize should be open if I'm reading correctly, but you also use the above Radeon.


As I said earlier, unfortunately it's just not a hardware configuration that is supported [for OS 4.x]. If you have two PCI graphic cards, OS3.x will be fine, it will ignore one and use the one you have configured. OS4 on the other hand won't handle having both cards present, and thus will not boot. OS4 does alot with juggling the limited Zorro 3 address space available, and as far as I know there just isn't accomodation in the kernel to handle two PCI graphic cards, even if you comment one out.

Of course all of this would be solved if there was Warp3D support for Radeon in OS 3.x. The fact that there isn't is why people wish to use the Voodoo 3 in OS 3.x, and the Radeon in OS 4.x. The Radeon supports the nice compositing features in OS 4.x AND of course it supports Warp3D.

Maybe a bounty could be setup to get Warp3D support for Radeon in OS 3.x.

It's an unfortunate situation for sure. If you were to e-mail Hyperion and enough users complained then maybe they can see if it can be fixed.

Darren

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:52 pm
by BULI
To usage Radeon under AOS 4.1 with Voodoo card in PCi slot (Mediator), you can lock pin A26 (Init Device Select).
Pinout PCi here: http://pinouts.ru/Slots/PCI_pinout.shtml
I made simple switch :D

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:41 pm
by DarrenHD
BULI wrote:To usage Radeon under AOS 4.1 with Voodoo card in PCi slot (Mediator), you can lock pin A26 (Init Device Select).
Pinout PCi here: http://pinouts.ru/Slots/PCI_pinout.shtml
I made simple switch :D


Interesting, can you write up a small document how to fix it? ;)

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:35 pm
by esc
Or sell me a switch? :P


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:22 pm
by JohnFante
BULI wrote:To usage Radeon under AOS 4.1 with Voodoo card in PCi slot (Mediator), you can lock pin A26 (Init Device Select).
Pinout PCi here: http://pinouts.ru/Slots/PCI_pinout.shtml
I made simple switch :D


I would be interrested in both the document and to buy a switch :-D

Re: Can't use my Radeon when Voodoo3 is installed.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 7:46 pm
by smf
JohnFante wrote:
BULI wrote:To usage Radeon under AOS 4.1 with Voodoo card in PCi slot (Mediator), you can lock pin A26 (Init Device Select).
Pinout PCi here: http://pinouts.ru/Slots/PCI_pinout.shtml
I made simple switch :D


I would be interrested in both the document and to buy a switch :-D


Please show us how you did it :)