Unable to install OS4.1fe on my A1200

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Re: Unable to install OS4.1fe on my A1200

Postby DarrenHD » Fri Sep 09, 2016 5:35 pm

andrea wrote:
DarrenHD wrote:
Yes, for sure all those WaitBlitter blocked lines is not normal, looks like it's having trouble with the Voodoo.

I'm assuming the Voodoo3 works fine under 3.x? Can you try to re-arrange the order of the cards in the Mediator to see if that helps? in the Classic FAQ there is a recommended order for PCI cards. Failing that you could try another Voodoo card (if you have one).

Let me know, if none of that works I can ask a developer.

Darren


Yeah, Voodoo works just fine on 68k side, I use my Amiga daily and never had any problems with it. I don't think I have another Voodoo, so I'll try if changing the PCI cards order in my Mediator actually fixes something, in the meantime here's a PCIInfo output on 68k side, maybe there's already something there that sticks out for you?

Pci Device 1:
VendorID: $10ec
VendorName: Realtek Semiconductor
DeviceID: $8139
DeviceName: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ 10/100 Mbps Fast Ethernet NIC
ClassCode: $20000
RevisionID: $10
InterruptPin: 1
SubsystemVendorID: $10ec
SubsystemID: $8139
IOSpace0: $eb6000 - $eb60ff
MemSpace1: $80000000 - $800000ff

Pci Device 2:
VendorID: $1319
VendorName: Forte Media
DeviceID: $801
DeviceName: FM0801 PCI Card MediaForte made in singapore
ClassCode: $40100
RevisionID: $b2
InterruptPin: 2
SubsystemVendorID: $1319
SubsystemID: $1319
IOSpace0: $eb6100 - $eb617f

Pci Device 3:
VendorID: $1319
VendorName: Forte Media
DeviceID: $802
DeviceName: FM801-as Xwave PCI Joystick
ClassCode: $98000
RevisionID: $b2
InterruptPin: 0
SubsystemVendorID: $1319
SubsystemID: $1319
IOSpace0: $eb6200 - $eb620f

Pci Device 4:
VendorID: $109e
VendorName: Brooktree Corporation
DeviceID: $36e
DeviceName: 878Asad SVR-2000 V1.02
ClassCode: $40000
RevisionID: $11
InterruptPin: 3
SubsystemVendorID: $0
SubsystemID: $0
MemSpace0: $80100000 - $80100fff

Pci Device 5:
VendorID: $109e
VendorName: Brooktree Corporation
DeviceID: $878
DeviceName: 7610144D&REV_02\4&1F7DBC9F&0&09F0 TV Video Capture
ClassCode: $48000
RevisionID: $11
InterruptPin: 3
SubsystemVendorID: $0
SubsystemID: $0
MemSpace0: $80200000 - $80200fff

Pci Device 6:
VendorID: $121a
VendorName: 3dfx Interactive Inc
DeviceID: $5
DeviceName: Voodoo3 All Voodoo3 chips, 3000
ClassCode: $30000
RevisionID: $1
InterruptPin: 4
SubsystemVendorID: $121a
SubsystemID: $5
MemSpace0: $88000000 - $8fffffff
MemSpace1: $90000000 - $97ffffff
IOSpace2: $eb6300 - $eb63ff
RomSpace: $80300000 - $8030ffff


Ok well you can try to remove the FM801 and TV Tuner card (maybe one at a time) to see if it makes a difference. Those cards won't work on 4.x. In theory they should not cause problems but I would try to remove one at a time to see if it changes anything.
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: Unable to install OS4.1fe on my A1200

Postby andrea » Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:58 pm

DarrenHD wrote:Yes, for sure all those WaitBlitter blocked lines is not normal, looks like it's having trouble with the Voodoo.

I'm assuming the Voodoo3 works fine under 3.x? Can you try to re-arrange the order of the cards in the Mediator to see if that helps? in the Classic FAQ there is a recommended order for PCI cards. Failing that you could try another Voodoo card (if you have one).

Let me know, if none of that works I can ask a developer.

Darren


I've been pretty busy in the last few weeks, so I completely forgot to get back to you, so sorry. :oops:
As you suggested, swapping positions of my Voodoo and the NIC cards did indeed the trick and I was finally able to boot from the installation cd once the PPC kernel got installed, thanks! :)
I also had to tweak some parameters in the KickLayout file and to somehow overcome some random lock-ups which seem to mainly happen when writing files to OS41 partition, but now I'm glad to say I'm able to boot straight into OS4.1fe (even if my system doesn't seem to be 100% stable yet: I assume that's probably because of the fact my BlizzPPC still has the original fan only).
One more question, Darren: is it possible to have the Early Startup menu displayed on the RTG output, just like I have the AmigaOS4.1fe logo on it? I checked through the documentation and it seems like that was the case in some early 4.1.x versions but that was switched back to AGA on 4.1fe?

Thank you very much!
andrea
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:41 pm

Re: Unable to install OS4.1fe on my A1200

Postby DarrenHD » Mon Sep 26, 2016 3:05 pm

andrea wrote:
DarrenHD wrote:Yes, for sure all those WaitBlitter blocked lines is not normal, looks like it's having trouble with the Voodoo.

I'm assuming the Voodoo3 works fine under 3.x? Can you try to re-arrange the order of the cards in the Mediator to see if that helps? in the Classic FAQ there is a recommended order for PCI cards. Failing that you could try another Voodoo card (if you have one).

Let me know, if none of that works I can ask a developer.

Darren


I've been pretty busy in the last few weeks, so I completely forgot to get back to you, so sorry. :oops:
As you suggested, swapping positions of my Voodoo and the NIC cards did indeed the trick and I was finally able to boot from the installation cd once the PPC kernel got installed, thanks! :)
I also had to tweak some parameters in the KickLayout file and to somehow overcome some random lock-ups which seem to mainly happen when writing files to OS41 partition, but now I'm glad to say I'm able to boot straight into OS4.1fe (even if my system doesn't seem to be 100% stable yet: I assume that's probably because of the fact my BlizzPPC still has the original fan only).
One more question, Darren: is it possible to have the Early Startup menu displayed on the RTG output, just like I have the AmigaOS4.1fe logo on it? I checked through the documentation and it seems like that was the case in some early 4.1.x versions but that was switched back to AGA on 4.1fe?

Thank you very much!


Yes, after Picasso96 was re-written/removed to be integrated as "real" RTG, we lost that capability. The original behaviour (early startup on RTG) I believe is on the list to be put back. I just don't know when unfortunately.

Glad it's booting for you now!

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Previous

Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests