Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.

Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby Mark Sealey » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:38 am

Hi all.....ok lol here we go....

Right ive done a full re partition and install of os3.1.4 using the installer disk....FFS default settings....3 partitions

SDH0=500mb
SDH1=11gb
SDH2=23.5gb
35gb sd card in a sd to ide adapter
I used the installer HDtools to do this...max transfer/buffers left alone(default settings)....all sems good at this point.

Installed os3.1.4 with supplied installer....with A600 modules.

Ok now I get Loadmodule fail devices still validating Loadmodule failed.

I have if I load the installer disk I can see the shd0: and workbench.

QUESTION...do I have to go back to pfs3 for large hdd support ? And re install it all again ?

My spec:
Amiga A600
020/33
2 mb chip
9.5 fast
88882/40 fpu
A604n
3.1 rom
Mabe it's because the A600 modules assume you have a 68000 cpu ?


Thank you

Mark
Mark Sealey
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby Mark Sealey » Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:05 am

A quick picture.
Attachments
received_2743107132381992.jpeg
Mark Sealey
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby thomasrapp » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:03 am

IMHO it's more likely lack of RAM. FFS is a bit memory-hungry with large partitions. As a rule of thumb you need ca. 1 MB of RAM per GB of partition size to validate a FFS partition. So in your case it just fails to create the bitmap for the big partitions and they stay in "validating" state forever.
User avatar
thomasrapp
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:22 am

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby Mark Sealey » Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:10 am

Oh...thats bad...13meg of ram ish per partition lol thats a lot of memory....ok back to pfs3 it is then....as the new improvements to ffs is useless unless you have a lot of ram ?

Oh well...thanks for the reply mate.
Mark Sealey
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby thomasrapp » Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:55 am

This is not a new issue, it has always been like this with all version of FFS.
User avatar
thomasrapp
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:22 am

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule)

Postby Mark Sealey » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:26 pm

Ah lol ok....back in the day when my A500 had a 20mb hdd and thought it was huge....Thanks for the help mate.
Mark Sealey
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: Os 3.1.4 issues (ffs or pfs3/Loadmodule) SOLVED/fixed

Postby Mark Sealey » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:12 pm

Managed to get some Eproms and burnt a 3.1.4 Rom....that fixed it....no need for loadmodule anymore.
Mark Sealey
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:39 pm


Return to Platform: Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest