what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby msalcedo » Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:38 am

et al,
I now know that this machine was not fixed! SO...

My "new" AmigaOne G4 (XE) is now a whole new machine... (replaced most of the main parts)
New ide hard drive for the moment. (looking for sii card)
New 9250 agp 128megs (from amigakit)
New usb (nec chipset) card
New Creative sound card (still have to learn how to use this)

BUT, most important of all, (thx tonyw) a stable 512-MB DIMM, because this was the real problem.

I'll keep asking questions, thanks everyone.

Michael
User avatar
msalcedo
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:55 am
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby tonyw » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:29 pm

Good to hear of your success.

Stay happy.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby CountRaven » Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:31 am

How can we se the a1ide.device to PIO mode? If it is not set by drfault, which command must be used on uboot to activate the PIO mode?
CountRaven
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:20 am

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby nbache » Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:47 am

CountRaven wrote:How can we se the a1ide.device to PIO mode? If it is not set by drfault, which command must be used on uboot to activate the PIO mode?
Check the documentation file: SYS:Documentation/IDE/a1ide_dev.doc.

But IIRC, DMA mode is only the default for "hardware which can cope" (or words to that effect), otherwise PIO. And I believe the latter is the case for the a1ide.

You can use the command C:idetool to check how your current settings are. Enter "idetool" to get a usage overview. You probably want the -l and/or the -u switches. Remember that "devname" in the syntax means the complete device name, e.g. "a1ide.device". BTW, there's a doc file for IDETool as well - same place as the device ones.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby amiganut » Fri Dec 13, 2013 10:54 pm

I know this thread is a couple years old.

Does anybody have a recommendation for a SATA or IDE card to fix the DMA issue?
amiganut
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:38 am

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby msalcedo » Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:40 am

I found and bought a SIGG ultraATA 133 pci. It works great.

AmigaKit also sells a sata card that is compatible.

M
User avatar
msalcedo
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:55 am
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby amiganut » Sat Dec 14, 2013 2:00 am

Amigakit only sells the 4 port Sata and there was some discussion that uboot 1.1.1 will not work with it. that is what I have.

"I think U-Boot 1.1.1(Mar 3 2005, latest non-beta firmeware) only supports cards with sii0680 (PATA) and one of the cards you named. I think it was the sii3112 (2-Port SATA).
There is a beta U-Boot 1.1.4 that add support for one more card, i think it is the sii3114 (4-Port SATA)."

Are there any SCSI cards that will work or a list of compatible hardware? I have several SCSI drives.
amiganut
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:38 am

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby Hypex » Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:18 pm

amiganut wrote:Are there any SCSI cards that will work or a list of compatible hardware? I have several SCSI drives.


Yeah check the lsi53c8xx_dev.doc in the same IDE drawer.
User avatar
Hypex
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Vic. Australia.

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby satiropan » Tue Dec 31, 2013 5:45 pm

hello
just to add some infos
I have the a1g3se, with uboot 1.1.4, it boots from 3112 and 3114, the last is the one I am using now
I had the same 2 dimm modules problem, in the beginning just 1 GB module registered and it worked ok, then added another one, same model, speed benchmark stated it was slower, audio was always freezing, no matter which audio board I used (sb live!, sb 128, muse 5.1)
then one day it didn't even boot anymore.
I took 1GB off and everything turned out perfect, even the audio problem is gone, I can now play audio streams for days without any interruption or freeze
but, of course, I have other problems: no USB, whether built in or with NEC card,
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
satiropan
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia

Re: what is fixed xe (g4) dma and usb hardware

Postby Hypex » Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:58 am

satiropan wrote:but, of course, I have other problems: no USB, whether built in or with NEC card,


It should work with USB1.x. Have you disabled USB2 EHCI driver?
User avatar
Hypex
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Vic. Australia.

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests