OS4.1FE did not start.

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby Elwood » Wed May 27, 2015 10:16 pm

nzv58l wrote:Do you know if there are any different versions of AmigaOS4.1 CD? I am going to download the CD from the Hyperion site and see if that does not work any better.

If you mean different revisions of AmigaOS Final Edition CD, no. There is only the one downloadable on Hyperion website. There is no older version.

@Niels
Beware of just using the name "AmigaOne". you mean the XE, the X1000, the 500? ;-)
Philippe "Elwood" Ferrucci
Sam460 owner
AmigaOS 4 betatester
User avatar
Elwood
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: Lyon, France

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nbache » Wed May 27, 2015 10:57 pm

Yeah - the good old one and only series, of course :-D - the one dealt with in this support forum.

But you're right. I'll try to remember.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nzv58l » Fri May 29, 2015 4:46 am

Thank you everyone, I am learning a lot. I get paid tomorrow and probably going to head to the computer store to get a null modem serial cable so I can stop poking in the dark with my issues and get a look at the serial port data...

I think this is going to be interesting finding out what happens a boot time...

I was also wondering about the Maxtransfer settings on the Filesystem chooser. There were several settings, one for Old IDE, one for IDE and Maximum. So what does the Old stand for in Old IDE? Does this also mean an Old Disk drive(of which I may be using.) Does this mean the Sil0680 that I have as an IDE PCI card? I also have a 4 port Sil3114 SATA PCI card with a SanDisk SSD that I am planning on using once I figure all this out. Should the settings be Maximum for this card/ssd?
nzv58l
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:19 am

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nzv58l » Sun May 31, 2015 10:12 am

Not having any luck, Tried to get uboot to write out to serial, but was unsuccessful. Tried to use uboot to change the setenv stdout to serial, now I do not see anything. The PC that I have has the serial port on the mother board and it says it is COM1, so that is what I set Putty to look at. Does not say anything, screen remains blank with a blinking cursor. I am tired...giving up for the night.
nzv58l
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:19 am

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby Elwood » Sun May 31, 2015 6:35 pm

nzv58l wrote:Tried to use uboot to change the setenv stdout to serial, now I do not see anything

Of course, it's what you told Uboot to do! If you connect a serial cable, you will see what would have been displayed on the monitor. To get back to normal you need to set "stdout" back to "vga".

I don't understand why you set stdout to serial but if by this you wanted to enable some output to serial, you don't need it. Uboot always output the very first lines of hardware initialisation to the serial connector.
I mean the lines starting with:
U-Boot 2015.a1 (May 28 2015 - 20:32:28)

CPU: AMCC PowerPC 460EX Rev. B at 1210 MHz (PLB=217 OPB=121 EBC=121)
No Security/Kasumi support
Bootstrap Option H - Boot ROM Location I2C (Addr 0x52)
Internal PCI arbiter enabled
32 kB I-Cache 32 kB D-Cache
....

The only settings you have to touch are explained here: http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Advanced_S ... t_settings
Philippe "Elwood" Ferrucci
Sam460 owner
AmigaOS 4 betatester
User avatar
Elwood
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: Lyon, France

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nzv58l » Sun May 31, 2015 7:52 pm

The article that was pointed out, was the same place where I got the idea to attempt to send the output out to the serial.

Per the article : "By default, AmigaOS debug output is sent to a memory debug buffer and not to serial. This is done for simplicity. If something happens, especially bugs, then just type "DumpDebugBuffer" in a shell and it shows you what the debug output was. This is similar to using the Sashimi tool which redirects serial output to the console."
nzv58l
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:19 am

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby Elwood » Sun May 31, 2015 8:24 pm

nzv58l wrote:AmigaOS debug output

not "Uboot output". To instruct the AmigaOS kernel to send debug information to the serial, you need to insert "serial" on the OS4 command line. You can do so from Uboot menu.

BTW, to revert the "stdout" variable back, boot OS4 (I hope you can) and from a shell type "nvsetvar stdout vga"
Philippe "Elwood" Ferrucci
Sam460 owner
AmigaOS 4 betatester
User avatar
Elwood
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:57 pm
Location: Lyon, France

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby tonyw » Mon Jun 01, 2015 12:14 am

nzv58l wrote:AmigaOS debug output is sent to a memory debug buffer and not to serial."


Don't get confused between "U-Boot output" and "AmigaOS debug output". U-Boot output is always sent to the serial port and can be captured on a remote terminal (even on a PC). It stops when you boot OS4.

AmigaOS debug output only starts when you boot OS4. As soon as you boot OS4, U-Boot is switched off and all output then comes from the OS, but you need the "serial" option in the "os4_commandline" variable. That variable is stored in the SRAM on the motherboard (not on disk) and can be set by U-Boot or by the OS4 command "nvsetvar".
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1322
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nzv58l » Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:34 am

Well, I finally got the serial info, I booted once with the Radeon 9000 installed and then again without. I am wondering if my Radeon is having issues, but I can boot to workbench on the CD:

Begining of serial output:
---------------------------------------------------------------------- With Radeon 9000 installed.
U-Boot 1.1.1 (Mar 3 2005 - 16:42:53), Build: 03/03/05

CPU: MPC7455 v2.1 @ 800 MHz
Board: AmigaOne
DRAM:
Information for SIMM bank 0:
Number of banks: 2
Number of row addresses: 13
Number of coumns addresses: 11
SIMM is registered
Supported burst lenghts: 8 4 2 1 PAGE
Supported CAS latencies: CAS 3 CAS 2
RAS to CAS latency: 3
Precharge latency: 3
SDRAM highest CAS latency: 750
SDRAM 2nd highest CAS latency: 1000
SDRAM data width: 4
Auto Refresh supported
Refresh time: 1042 clocks
Bank 0 size: 512 MB
Bank 1 size: 512 MB


Information for SIMM bank 1:
Number of banks: 2
Number of row addresses: 13
Number of coumns addresses: 11
SIMM is registered
Supported burst lenghts: 8 4 2 1 PAGE
Supported CAS latencies: CAS 3 CAS 2
RAS to CAS latency: 3
Precharge latency: 3
SDRAM highest CAS latency: 750
SDRAM 2nd highest CAS latency: 1000
SDRAM data width: 4
Auto Refresh supported
Refresh time: 1042 clocks
Bank 0 size: 512 MB
Bank 1 size: 512 MB

DIMM0_B0_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B1_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B2_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B3_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
Using CAS 3 (slow)
Using CAS 3 (slow)
DRAM_GCR0 = 0x00551000
Refresh set to 2083 clocks, auto refresh on
DRAM_REFRESH0 = 0x00019823
Mode bank 0: 0x00008032
Mode bank 1: 0x00008032
Mode bank 2: 0x00008032
Mode bank 3: 0x00008032
2048 MB
FLASH: 0 kB
VGA: 0 ..
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial

---------------------------------------------------------------------- Without Radeon 9000 installed...
U-Boot 1.1.1 (Mar 3 2005 - 16:42:53), Build: 03/03/05
CPU: MPC7455 v2.1 @ 800 MHz
Board: AmigaOne
DRAM:
Information for SIMM bank 0:
Number of banks: 2
Number of row addresses: 13
Number of coumns addresses: 11
SIMM is registered
Supported burst lenghts: 8 4 2 1 PAGE
Supported CAS latencies: CAS 3 CAS 2
RAS to CAS latency: 3
Precharge latency: 3
SDRAM highest CAS latency: 750
SDRAM 2nd highest CAS latency: 1000
SDRAM data width: 4
Auto Refresh supported
Refresh time: 1042 clocks
Bank 0 size: 512 MB
Bank 1 size: 512 MB


Information for SIMM bank 1:
Number of banks: 2
Number of row addresses: 13
Number of coumns addresses: 11
SIMM is registered
Supported burst lenghts: 8 4 2 1 PAGE
Supported CAS latencies: CAS 3 CAS 2
RAS to CAS latency: 3
Precharge latency: 3
SDRAM highest CAS latency: 750
SDRAM 2nd highest CAS latency: 1000
SDRAM data width: 4
Auto Refresh supported
Refresh time: 1042 clocks
Bank 0 size: 512 MB
Bank 1 size: 512 MB

DIMM0_B0_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B1_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B2_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B3_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
Using CAS 3 (slow)
Using CAS 3 (slow)
DRAM_GCR0 = 0x00551000
Refresh set to 2083 clocks, auto refresh on
DRAM_REFRESH0 = 0x00019823
Mode bank 0: 0x00008032
Mode bank 1: 0x00008032
Mode bank 2: 0x00008032
Mode bank 3: 0x00008032
2048 MB
FLASH: 0 kB
VGA: NOT PRESENT
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
SCSI: Error SCSI Controller (1000,000F) not found
Net: 3Com 3c920c#0
AT Keyboard initialized!
USB: scanning bus for devices... 1 USB Devices found
No Catweasel controller (0xe1594, 0x0001) attached

Bus 0: OK Bus 1: .OK
Device 0: Vendor: HL-DT-S Prod.: CD-RW GCE-8525B Rev: 1.01
Type: Removable CD ROM
Capacity: 536.4 MB = 0.5 GB (274641 x 2048)
Device 1: not available
Device 2: Model: ST315323A Firm: 3.02 Ser#: 7EH0H04G
Type: Hard Disk
Capacity: 14652.5 MB = 14.3 GB (30008475 x 512)
Device 3: not available
Press any key to interrupt autoboot: 0
First-level bootloader: entered main
First-level bootloader: got 3 valid boot sources
AmigaOS4 first-level bootloader.
Scanning HDD ST315323A 7EH0H04G 3.02... Entered find_sec_bl_start
Reading sector 0
Reading sector 1
Found an HD
FLB: found something
FLB: SLB of length 29036; loading
found AmigaOS4 second level bootloader.
FLB: SLB loaded; now launching it
Loading .text @ 0x014000a0 (24080 bytes)
Loading .rodata @ 0x01405eb0 (2482 bytes)
Loading .data @ 0x01416870 (208 bytes)
Loading .got2 @ 0x01416940 (596 bytes)
Loading .fixup @ 0x01416b94 (104 bytes)
Loading .sdata @ 0x01416bfc (16 bytes)
Clearing .sbss @ 0x01416c0c (44 bytes)
Clearing .bss @ 0x01416c38 (4104 bytes)
A1 Second-level booter V2.
Idea, design and main code: Andrea Vallinotto.
Testing and fixes: Stefan Burstroem
SFS and ISO9660 reading routines: Joerg Strohmayer.
Linux booting extensions: Andrea and the GRUB team.
A1 Second-level booter V2.
Idea, design and main code: Andrea Vallinotto.
Testing and fixes: Stefan Burstroem
SFS and ISO9660 reading routines: Joerg Strohmayer.
Linux booting extensions: Andrea and the GRUB team.




Booting configuration AmigaOS 4.1 Final
----------------------------------------------------------------
End of Serial Output:
nzv58l
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:19 am

Re: OS4.1FE did not start.

Postby nzv58l » Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:16 am

Here is what I got from the serial output with a successful boot into Workbench from the install CD:

U-Boot 1.1.1 (Mar 3 2005 - 16:42:53), Build: 03/03/05

CPU: MPC7455 v2.1 @ 800 MHz
Board: AmigaOne
DRAM:
Information for SIMM bank 0:
Number of banks: 2
Number of row addresses: 13
Number of coumns addresses: 11
SIMM is registered
Supported burst lenghts: 8 4 2 1 PAGE
Supported CAS latencies: CAS 3 CAS 2
RAS to CAS latency: 3
Precharge latency: 3
SDRAM highest CAS latency: 750
SDRAM 2nd highest CAS latency: 1000
SDRAM data width: 4
Auto Refresh supported
Refresh time: 1042 clocks
Bank 0 size: 512 MB
Bank 1 size: 512 MB

Slot 1: vacant
DIMM0_B0_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B1_SCR0 = 0x00ff9f00
DIMM0_B2_SCR0 = 0x007f9f00
DIMM0_B3_SCR0 = 0x007f9f00
Using CAS 3 (slow)
DRAM_GCR0 = 0x00550800
Refresh set to 2083 clocks, auto refresh on
DRAM_REFRESH0 = 0x00019823
Mode bank 0: 0x00008032
Mode bank 1: 0x00008032
1024 MB
FLASH: 0 kB
VGA: 0 ..
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
SCSI: Error SCSI Controller (1000,000F) not found
Net: 3Com 3c920c#0
AT Keyboard initialized!
USB: scanning bus for devices... 1 USB Devices found
No Catweasel controller (0xe1594, 0x0001) attached

Bus 0: OK Bus 1: OK
Device 0: Vendor: HL-DT-S Prod.: CD-RW GCE-8525B Rev: 1.01
Type: Removable CD ROM
Capacity: 536.4 MB = 0.5 GB (274641 x 2048)
Device 1: not available
Device 2: Model: ST315323A Firm: 3.02 Ser#: 7EH0H04G
Type: Hard Disk
Capacity: 14652.5 MB = 14.3 GB (30008475 x 512)
Device 3: not available
Press any key to interrupt autoboot: 0
First-level bootloader: entered main
First-level bootloader: got 3 valid boot sources
AmigaOS4 first-level bootloader.
Scanning CD/DVD HL-DT-S CD-RW GCE-8525B 1.01...Found a CD
AOS CD boot partition on disk is 15 sectors long.
CD boot image (el Torino) loaded.found AmigaOS4 second level bootloader.
FLB: SLB loaded; now launching it
Loading .text @ 0x014000a0 (24080 bytes)
Loading .rodata @ 0x01405eb0 (2482 bytes)
Loading .data @ 0x01416870 (208 bytes)
Loading .got2 @ 0x01416940 (596 bytes)
Loading .fixup @ 0x01416b94 (104 bytes)
Loading .sdata @ 0x01416bfc (16 bytes)
Clearing .sbss @ 0x01416c0c (44 bytes)
Clearing .bss @ 0x01416c38 (4104 bytes)
A1 Second-level booter V2.
Idea, design and main code: Andrea Vallinotto.
Testing and fixes: Stefan Burstroem
SFS and ISO9660 reading routines: Joerg Strohmayer.
Linux booting extensions: Andrea and the GRUB team.
Possible selections:
1 -> AmigaOS 4.x: CDROM AmigaOS 4.1 Final CD
Choice ?
Choice ? 1
Booting configuration AmigaOS 4.1 Final CD

If this does have something to do with my video card, I can not understand why it would let me boot into the CD's version of the workbench, but not the HD. I even set it to use the same resolution for Workbench 800 x 600 @ 60hz just in case.
nzv58l
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 4:19 am

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests