Uboot

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.

Uboot

Postby kilaueabart » Thu May 18, 2017 3:28 am

Having used CFE on my X1000 for a few years, I've forgotten what Uboot is supposed to tell me. I always get the following when booting my revamped SAM460ex:

------------------------------------
Config: PCIe 4x + PCIe 1x
USB: scanning bus for devices ... 6 USB Device(s) found
scanning bus for storage devices... 2 Storage Device(s) found
SATA Device 0: OK SATA Device 1: not available SATA Device 2: ..........

Model: ATAPI Firm: ALa5 Ser#: iHAS24 B
Type: Removeable CD ROM
Capacity: 538.8 MB = 0.5 GB (275878 x 2048)
not available

Press SPACE for prefs, ENTER for boot select, ESC for prompt
Booting... 4
---------------------------------------

So, is that "ATAPI ... CD ROM" SATA Device 2? How does Uboot know so much about a device that isn't available?

More to the point, can I set something in Uboot that will save me from waiting for it to give up on that ".........." stuff?
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Uboot

Postby Raziel » Thu May 18, 2017 8:58 am

Code: Select all
set ide_maxbus=1

will skip all scans on the ide chain after SATA Device 0 (If you ever want to use your CDRom later on, you'll have to change that setting accordingly)
I'd put the CDRom on position 1 of the chain, set maxbus to 2 and be done with it :-)

The official wiki

Old but still good crash course on UBoot

If you look at the first picture you'll see that there is a Device 3: not available.
As UBoot seems to find your CDRom just fine (even reports the capacity correctly) the "not available" part after that looks to me as if it belongs to a (missing the output) Device 3.

So, your CDRom seems to be there just fine, sitting on position 2 on the IDE chain.
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Uboot

Postby kilaueabart » Fri May 19, 2017 3:41 am

Thanks. I've bookmarked the wiki in case of future need, but it sounds like I just need to follow the
put the CDRom on position 1 of the chain, set maxbus to 2

suggestion, which I will next time I boot.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Uboot

Postby kilaueabart » Sat May 27, 2017 3:52 am

Raziel wrote:
Code: Select all
set ide_maxbus=1

will skip all scans on the ide chain after SATA Device 0 (If you ever want to use your CDRom later on, you'll have to change that setting accordingly)

I was a bit dismayed when that didn't make any difference, but I guess I don't even have an ide chain. When I set s4sii_maxbus to 1 I got the desired result.

If in fact I do not have an "ide chain," I wonder whether there is any point to these:

Code: Select all
ide_doreset=on
ide_reset_timeout=15
ide_cd_timeout=20

The UBoot documents you recommended don't seem to clear that matter up.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Uboot

Postby Raziel » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:59 pm

Too long ago, so my memory is faint at best.

I'm not sure if the "ide_" stuff only affects the "onboard" ide or is used generally for some of the settings.

Better not touch them if it works now...or, if you feel brave, set them to 0 or off and see what happens ;-)
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains


Return to Platform: AmigaOne 500 and Sam series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests