Mixer problem still on.

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.

Mixer problem still on.

Postby acmn » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:07 am

What is this? When I open Mixer in my AmigaOne500 the onboard sound dies
totally. It comes back when I move "Playback Master"-slider slightly and leave
the program using "Quit"-button.
When I use Envy24HT card the Mixer has no effect at all...sound level can not
be adjusted...it is very low.
I have the latest version of Envy24HT driver and Mixer too.
acmn
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby Raziel » Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:56 pm

acmn wrote:What is this? When I open Mixer in my AmigaOne500 the onboard sound dies
totally. It comes back when I move "Playback Master"-slider slightly and leave
the program using "Quit"-button.
When I use Envy24HT card the Mixer has no effect at all...sound level can not
be adjusted...it is very low.
I have the latest version of Envy24HT driver and Mixer too.

From the Mixer readme
Supports SBLive/SBAudigy (emu10kx), FM801, SB128, CMI8738, CS4281, Envy24HT
(Aureon 5.1, M-Audio Revolution 5.1)
, Solo-1 (ES1969) chips, SAM460 (SM502) and
VIA686B (A1-XE/PEG2) onboard sound when you have the AC'97 codec onboard.

Do you have any of this two cards?
Because there are other Envy24HT chipped cards out there who don't offer mixer functionality on-board (i.e. Juli@ XT(e))
If you got a card without an on-board mixer (which i believe) you are out of luck.

Regarding the other problem.
You can try to use SETLEVELS at tooltype in Mixer, maybe it fixes your Mute problem.

Again from the Mixer readme
- Starting with the CLI argument/tooltype SETLEVELS, will open AHI (which inits
all cards), load the saved volumes from 'Mixer.prefs' if present, set up the
volumes accordingly and quit without showing the GUI. This is great to put
in your s-s (or WBstartup) so you don't have to start AHI prefs or an audio
program just if you want to use PlayCD for example.


Otherwise i suggest you get in contact with the Mixer author
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby acmn » Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:46 pm

Using SETLEVEL tooltype means that GUI is not showing up and you can't use the sliders...
But here's a trick to sort this problem out:
I use F1 button to open Mixer GUI normally and then after saving the new sound level
I use F2 button to start Mixer again using SETLEVELS tooltype and thereby having
the sound back.
F1: Run program Workbench:Utilities/Commodities/Mixer/Mixer
F2: Run program Workbench:Utilities/Commodities/Mixer/Mixer SETLEVELS

The Envy card's sound level is really low in my opinion and it cannot be adjusted by Mixer.
I bought the card from Acube Systems. Here are the specs:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inputs:
CD-IN 4-pin Header (Signal: L-G-G-R)
CD-IN 4-pin Header (Signal: G-R-G-L)
Mono Microphone
S/PDIF Optical (Connect to S/PDIF Optical Output of Another Audio Device)
Analog Left/Right Line-in
Outputs:
Front Left/Right Analog
Side Surround Left/Right Analog
Center/Subwoofer Analog
Rear Surround Left/Right Analog
S/PDIF Optical (Connect to Digital Amplifier or Surround Sound Decoder)
Based on VIA VT1724 Envy24HT Multi-channel Audio Controller
Based on VIA VT1618 8-channel AC'97 Codec
Complies with AC'97 Specification, Revision 2.3
Complies with PCI-express Base Specification Rev. 1.1
Sampling Rate up to 24-bit and 48KHz for both Playing Back and Recording
Supports Swapping of Center and LEFT audio Output Channel
Integrated De-pop Function for Eliminating Pop Noise During PC Power-up and Shutdown.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
acmn
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby Spectre660 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:35 pm

You are correct.
The Sound level is low unless you have some sort of amplifying speakers or the like.
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby acmn » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:02 am

Spectre660 wrote:You are correct.
The Sound level is low unless you have some sort of amplifying speakers or the like.


The Envy's sound level is low compared to on-board sound, that's what I meant...
acmn
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby Spectre660 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:59 am

I understand what you mean.
I use headphones most of the time for my sound.
on some videos sound level is too low to hear properly with the Envy24 card.
Sound is ok using the onbaord sound with the same videos.
If I plug the Envy24 output into an old Speaker set that I have it boosts the sound level so
if I use speakers for my out put I dont have the low levels issue.

quote="acmn"]
Spectre660 wrote:You are correct.
The Sound level is low unless you have some sort of amplifying speakers or the like.


The Envy's sound level is low compared to on-board sound, that's what I meant...[/quote]
Spectre660
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby javierdlr » Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:10 am

acmn wrote:What is this? When I open Mixer in my AmigaOne500 the onboard sound dies
totally. It comes back when I move "Playback Master"-slider slightly and leave
the program using "Quit"-button.
When I use Envy24HT card the Mixer has no effect at all...sound level can not
be adjusted...it is very low.
I have the latest version of Envy24HT driver and Mixer too.


Does it happen will ALL mixer versions (old versions here: http://openamiga.org/?function=viewfiles&projectid=62)
I would start with Mixer 1.32 and if it works OK for you then go up by 1 version and so.
Can you try from the oldest one to the latest one and tell me which one works OK with your soundcard?

TIA
User avatar
javierdlr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Donostia (GUIPUZCOA) - Spain

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby acmn » Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:14 pm

Well. This I found out. Mixer 1.32 works ok and Mixer 1.36 too, but not Mixer 1.37.
So I stick to Mixer 1.36. Thank you, javierdlr.
acmn
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby javierdlr » Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:04 am

acmn wrote:Well. This I found out. Mixer 1.32 works ok and Mixer 1.36 too, but not Mixer 1.37.
So I stick to Mixer 1.36. Thank you, javierdlr.


Did you try V1.38?
http://openamiga.org/attachment/project/62/mixer138.lha
is in os4depot too.
User avatar
javierdlr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Donostia (GUIPUZCOA) - Spain

Re: Mixer problem still on.

Postby acmn » Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:20 pm

javierdlr wrote:
acmn wrote:Well. This I found out. Mixer 1.32 works ok and Mixer 1.36 too, but not Mixer 1.37.
So I stick to Mixer 1.36. Thank you, javierdlr.


Did you try V1.38?
http://openamiga.org/attachment/project/62/mixer138.lha
is in os4depot too.


Yes, V1.38 does the same...
acmn
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Tampere, Finland

Next

Return to Platform: AmigaOne 500 and Sam series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests