FE CD Not booting on SSAM440ep with ATI 9200 PCI GFX

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.

FE CD Not booting on SSAM440ep with ATI 9200 PCI GFX

Postby fastbit66 » Sun Jan 04, 2015 1:55 pm

Dear Amiga Lovers!

I have a problem booting the AmigaOS 4.1 FE CD.
I have a SAM440ep with a ATI 9200 PCI GFX Card.
My on-board gfx is broken.
Everything ran fine with Update 6.
But if I try to boot the FE CD the system freezes
after loading a few seconds and showing the new Boot logo.

Can't get it to work. I had the same issue whwn I installed
Update 5 when it was released. The solution these days was to change
a setting in the nvram. But I can't remeber exactly any more waht it was :-(
Maybe I must set it back or something else because of the new gfx lib and subsystem???

Can someone give me a hint what to try?

Thanx in advanve for your time and help!

Best regards
Andi
fastbit66
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:40 am

Re: FE CD Not booting on SSAM440ep with ATI 9200 PCI GFX

Postby fastbit66 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:31 pm

@Metalheart
@yoodoo2

The uboot trick didn't work - couldn't find the radeon option.

But the way yoodoo2 described semmed to work. I could install and the system is booting
AmigaOS 4.1 FE. Even I had a lot of unassigned error messages during installation.

But now I have the same behaviour I had when installing update 5:
When WB is being loaded the system freezes compeletly. The resolution is ok and I can senn the vlome icons WB DH1 DH2 and RAM . In the middle of the screen I can senn a white square shape without any icons. This must be the window foe AMIStart. That's all. System completely frozen :-(
If I boot without startup-sequence thesystem starts.

Is there a way to tell at boot time to use radeon driver or is a setting in uboot (nvvar settings) incorrect?

Thanx a lot again!

Andi
fastbit66
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:40 am

Re: FE CD Not booting on SSAM440ep with ATI 9200 PCI GFX

Postby fastbit66 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:35 pm

Hallo !

I got a bit further with the problem - but still no luck.

This is what I could figure out so far - but now I am lost..

I commented LoadMonDrvs out in startup-sequence.
Then the system starts with boot sound an everything else.
I looked into the screenmodes and there are only the lower vga modes listed.
That's ok because of not loading the drivers.

I can now open a shell and load the drivers with the command 'LoadMonDrvs'
That goes well and system still running ok.
Now when I go back to screenmode prefs van see all modes available up to 1920x1080

If I say 'test the mode 1920x1080' the mode switches to this resolution and shows the test pic
and the dialog saying 'if mode is ok click ok to save' . But this is it
System freezes completely - cannot even move the mouse anymore nor save the mode.

But I recognized two issues: My gfx board is named Board-0. Up to update 6 it was always named Radeon 9200 SE.
Second is in devs/montitors. I only can see a Monitor named NONE with almost anything disabled in the information tab. I tried to do auto-reconize monitor but this didn't help.

Have you any further ideas!

Thanx so much!

Andi
fastbit66
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:40 am


Return to Platform: AmigaOne 500 and Sam series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests