Updating on German Workbench does not work

This forum is for Pegasos II specific issues.

Updating on German Workbench does not work

Postby ingoj » Thu Dec 22, 2016 4:04 pm

Hi Hyperion!

I just discovered that when running on German locale AmiUpdate gives misleading information.

On first invocation AmiUpdate gives this notification to restart the computer:

screenshot-01.png
First Screenshot


When you follow the advice it's apparent that this will lead you nowhere, of course. But when you invoke AmiUpdate the second time, the program window pops up and you'll see this:

screenshot-02.png
Second Screenshot


You can see not matched strings and wrong order of buttons. The correct buttons show up when you switch to English language:

screenshot-03.png
third screenshot


As you can see, the buttons in the German locale are mixed up:

- Scan is Aktualisieren (Update)
- Update is Abbrechen (Cancel)
- Select None is Fortfahren (Proceed)
- Info is Danke (Thanks)

So, clicking on Aktualisieren (Update) will result in another scan for updated packages.

I was updating from two versions behind and on very first invocation AmiUpdate itself updated, resulting in this broken setup. Maybe when updating from the previous version this problem does not occur.

Just wanted to let you know... :-)

Ingo
ingoj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:24 am

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Postby MichaelMerkel » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:18 pm

ingoj wrote:Hi Hyperion!
screenshot-02.png



hi ingo.

see your second screenshot. there is an updated german locale file available - guess why :-)

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Postby ingoj » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:27 pm

MichaelMerkel wrote:
ingoj wrote:Hi Hyperion!
screenshot-02.png


see your second screenshot. there is an updated german locale file available - guess why :-)


Sure, but it's difficult to install it that way with the broken locales in place. ;-)

Ingo
ingoj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:24 am

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Postby nbache » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:15 am

ingoj wrote:Sure, but it's difficult to install it that way with the broken locales in place. ;-)
You need to switch to English locale until you have both AmiUpdate and the translation(s) installed and in sync. Then you can switch back.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark


Return to Platform: Pegasos II

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests