Can't boot into the system

This forum is for Pegasos II specific issues.

Can't boot into the system

Postby BSzili » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:05 pm

I can't get AmigaOS 4.1 working on my Pegasos II. The installation succeeds, but when I boot from the HDD (boot hd:0 amigaboot.of) I only get an AmigaDOS shell.
The layout is: 128 MB FFS-intl boot partition (boot pri 0), 2 GB FFS2 system partition, 60 GB JXFS work partition, no swap. All of them have 512 byte blocksize. I tried SFS\00 too for the system partition, but it didn't help :(
BSzili
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:51 pm

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby Slayer » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:36 pm

Can't say I've used this hardware before

if you type dir in the shell do you get the root directory? If so continue if not what do you see? what? Or?

What happens if you type reboot fast and return in the shell does it come back to a shell?

Try typing excute s:startup-sequence return

does this fire up workbench? with a few requesters popping up to annoy you for good measure

Someone who knows about this machine might be able to enquire about what is plugged into what
port

try typing nvgetvar and return in the shell and paste the output, not sure it is part of the Peg AmigaOS distribution

few things to try anyway ;)

p.s.

I have to say the labels of all your 3 partitions are very confusing since, boot, system and work can all refer to the actual booting WORK: or SYS: partition. Where exactly are all these partitions situated, in the order you list them perhaps?

Your small boot I guess should be FFS and only contain amigaboot.of and non bootable (I'd probably call this BH0:)
Your boot partition or WORK: should be SFS/02 and bootable (this will contain the complete AmigaOS installation including SDK - I'd call this DH0:)
Your other partition MISC: can be JXFS and non bootable (I'd call this DH1: or higher)

I don't mean to confuse you since alot of people have there own methods
Last edited by Slayer on Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby tlosmx » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:52 pm

Hi BSZili,
in open firmware type
boot cd amigaboot.of for start the installation of AmigaOs 4.1.2
after make 3 partitions or more on your hd
first call it boot (100megs) filesystem FFS 1024 blocks put it priority 1
.. .there copy your amigaboot.of or other boot images if you will install "others" operative Systems
Second one AmigaOs (10Gb or more) make it SFS and 512 Blocks priority 2
tird Work and so and so...

After the installation is finished boot ide:0 amigaboot.of

ah i forgot ... if you install otheros on peggy remember to gave the priority boot level of the hd less of 2 ...
and make the machine boot with long command line
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby BSzili » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:18 pm

Thanks for both of you, I rearranged the partitions a little, and now it works!! :D The main issue was giving the bootable flag to the OS4 system partition, not the one with just amigaboot.of.
BSzili
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:51 pm

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby tlosmx » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:32 pm

hhehe ;)
the boot partition (where is the amigaboot.of) can be not bootable , the important is have bootable the AmigaOs partition :P
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby samo79 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:21 pm

@BSzili

Great, welcome to AmigaOS :-)
Now don't forget to install all the updates from the Hyperion site and then all the others via AmiUpdate :D
User avatar
samo79
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Italy

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby nbache » Tue Nov 19, 2013 10:07 pm

Slayer wrote:I have to say the labels of all your 3 partitions are very confusing since, boot, system and work can all refer to the actual booting WORK: or SYS: partition.
Conventionally, Work: is not a bootable partition, but a partition for third-party applications and data or whatever, i.e. anything but the installed OS itself. The system partition is conventionally called System: or Workbench: or similar names.

And SYS: is the assign created during startup to point to the root of the boot volume; to avoid confusion I'd advise against giving any partition that as volume (or device) name .

(Note to nitpickers: By conventionally, I mean by one pretty widespread convention from the classical age, not by the one and only convention ever found.)

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1211
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby Slayer » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:14 am

dont make me come down there nbache ;)

Ive never labelled any device SYS either
when I said SYS: in my initial post it was
a loose reference to whatever you called
your system partition because it would
still be assigned SYS.

Got to be more concise when handling
information, so many eyes scrutinising :ugeek:
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby tlosmx » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:03 pm

Slayer sorry a small ot

i see you in signature 3x X1000 ... what are you doing mate X1000 clustering ;-) ;-)
(*im speaking with 4x A4000 :P)
AmigaOne Xe 933 mhz Radeon 9000pro Samsung 840 SSD
Pegasos2 1266mhz Radeon 9800pro Verbatib Sata3 SSD
Sam 460ex Lite 2gb Ram , Radeon 6670,Toshiba 500gb Sata/HDD
Amiga Cd32 / Amiga 600 / Amiga 500 / Amiga CDtv/ Amiga 4000 / Amiga 1200 /Amiga 2000 and many many many z3 Boards
tlosmx
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:15 am

Re: Can't boot into the system

Postby nbache » Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:46 pm

Slayer wrote:dont make me come down there nbache ;)
Didn't mean to start an argument or anything. I was just a bit confused by your post seemingly referring to the boot partition as WORK: and wanted to make sure any new users didn't get the idea that this is "normal", at least not without seeing other schemes suggested.

Ive never labelled any device SYS either
when I said SYS: in my initial post it was
a loose reference to whatever you called
your system partition because it would
still be assigned SYS.
Yes, I assumed as much. But again, new users could get the idea that using SYS: as a name would be a good idea.

Got to be more concise when handling
information, so many eyes scrutinising :ugeek:
Always a good idea on a support forum :-).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1211
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Next

Return to Platform: Pegasos II

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests