Page 1 of 1

SWAP not works ?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 8:00 pm
by sailorMH
Hello,

how can I test if virtual memory works or not?
I have Pegasos2 with 1G Ram, swap partition settings: Name=SWAP, automount, type=SWAP, blocksize=4096, mask=FFFFFFFE, MaxTransfer=7FFFFFFF

On my Peg is installed MorphOs, AmigaOs, Debian and NetBSD..

but shell command avail shows only physical memory, and Prefs/workbench screen title shows the same ammount for virtual and other mem, always less then 1GB.
It seems that SWAP doesnt work. Is there any testing tool, or need I some special settings on Pegasos?

Re: SWAP not works ?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2013 10:26 pm
by tonyw
Your settings seem to be correct.

There is no way to test if it is working; when it works, it is seamless. You can't see extra memory or anything obvious like that.
You won't see any figures that tell you how much of the swap space is used. There are some kernel commands that will dump pager (swap) information and you can find them in the Documentation/ drawer. But they are pretty low level and you might not get any useful information out of them.

Don't make the mistake of loading lots of big files into RAM: in an attempt to force paging.

Re: SWAP not works ?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:02 pm
by sailorMH
thank for information.
As I dont run out of memory yet, it probably works :-)

Re: SWAP not works ?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:29 pm
by tlosmx
open a shell and type:
memstats
there you will see of much memory and virtual are used/allocaded

Ciao
Luigi

Re: SWAP not works ?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:47 am
by kas1e
@sailorMH
Hold for some time with swap, it have some moments to fix (already reported and author aware of them). I.e. if you just hope that when you will fill out your real memory and swap will be in use, then in real-use for now its not like this. I.e. swap trying to be in use, but have some loop of checks which author will fix.