Quake II OS4.1

Quake II OS4.1

Postby curty » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:07 pm

I have installed the latest update for Quake 2 and get sound stuttering.
I have read about this in the documentation but just wondered why it happens?
I noticed this doesn't happen to any of my other MiniGL Apps, or Quake 3 for instance.

Thanks
Curtis
curty
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Quake II OS4.1

Postby Peter Gordon » Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:53 pm

Quake 2 seems to suffer the worst, but Freespace and other MiniGL demos do cause it.

Hopefully the new gfx system will solve the issue.

In the meantime, if you crank down the AHI settings, it should reduce or go away.
Peter Gordon
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:49 am

Re: Quake II OS4.1

Postby curty » Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:41 pm

Thanks Peter,

I did try to turn the quality settings down and it got slightly better but still not amazing.

Thanks,
Curt
curty
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Quake II OS4.1

Postby Joeled » Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:33 am

I solved it so nothing to see.
User avatar
Joeled
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:37 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Quake II OS4.1

Postby ddni » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:18 pm

Hi when I run Quake2 latest version on my X1000 under update5, I get a loud crack/pop from the speakers and then no sound. The game runs well (on 9250) but without sound.
On quitting the game, the sound system for the OS is broken - Tunenet etc will not play sound and then hangs when I try to quit. This then forces a soft reset.

There are no specific error messages.

Is there a fix for this?


edit:
Changing AHI music unit to "Unit 0:16 bit stereo++" from "CMI8738 HiFi 16 bit stereo++" seems to have worked...
BUT will this lead to issues elsewhere?

edit2:
It seems the AHI unit has little to do with the issue.
I have found that if you start the game in MiniGL mode, the audio breaks. If you then set graphics to software, exit the game and reboot, you can start the game with sound and software rendering.
You can then set the graphics to MiniGL and play with sound.
I am sure there is more to this though as it still feels a bit glitchy. When working, the game runs superbly!
User avatar
ddni
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:06 am


Return to Quake II

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests