Missing popupmenu include file (RESOLVED)

Have a question about our Software Developer Kit? Ask them here.

Missing popupmenu include file (RESOLVED)

Postby xenic » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:05 pm

I was going to switch Dopus4 sources from using old (custom generated) includes for popupmenu.library to using the newer popupmenu.library includes in the OS4 SDK. However it appears that SDK:Include/include_h/libraries/ is misssing the popupmenu library file: popupmenu.h. Can this be fixed for the next SDK so that programs don't need to use their own includes for popupmenu.library?
Last edited by xenic on Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Missing popupmenu include file

Postby ssolie » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:11 pm

You should avoid using popupmenu.library directly. Instead, try to use the new popupmenu.class instead.
AmigaOS Development Team Lead
Be authentic. Get AmigaOS.
User avatar
ssolie
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Missing popupmenu include file (SOLVED)

Postby xenic » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:51 am

ssolie wrote:You should avoid using popupmenu.library directly. Instead, try to use the new popupmenu.class instead.

If I write a new program, I will. However, some old programs like Dopus4 aren't Reaction and use the library directly. Shouldn't any library that is included in OS4 have the full set of required files included in the SDK? I see with closer examination that the other popupmenu includes apply to popupmenu.class so we actually need all the popupmenu.library includes in order to use the library. I'll just continue to use the old popupmenu.library includes with Dopus4. I would also like to point out that if OS4 popupmenu.library is changed in a way that is not backward compatible or is eliminated, some programs like Dopus4 will no longer work.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Missing popupmenu include file (SOLVED)

Postby chris » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:01 pm

xenic wrote:If I write a new program, I will. However, some old programs like Dopus4 aren't Reaction and use the library directly.


You can still change them to use the class. I've not used the library so don't know how much it differs, but with the class you just construct a menu tree and then call the method PM_OPEN when you want it to appear. It's not linked to window.class (or any other BOOPSI/Reaction gadgetry) at all.
chris
 
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:05 pm


Return to SDK Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests