Diskchange with catweasel 2

This is the place to ask if you have any issues with our forum system. These include questions about your account, PM's, login trouble, etc.

Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby papaoskar » Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:25 pm

I managed to build in a catweasel 2 controller in X1000.
So far it works fine. however, any Diskette changes are not recognized and I have to reboot the X1000.
That cannot be normal to reset the machine everytime i make a diskchange.
Crossdosfilesystem here is 53.11 ! Is it nessescary to patch that file also as indicated in the papers?
What else to do ?
papaoskar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby thomasrapp » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:07 pm

c:diskchange command does not work?
User avatar
thomasrapp
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:22 am

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby Christopher Follett » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:45 pm

papaoskar wrote:I managed to build in a catweasel 2 controller in X1000.
So far it works fine. however, any Diskette changes are not recognized and I have to reboot the X1000.
That cannot be normal to reset the machine everytime i make a diskchange.
Crossdosfilesystem here is 53.11 ! Is it nessescary to patch that file also as indicated in the papers?
What else to do ?


You haven't got something setup right. It always detects disk changes, sometimes it can be a bit slow, but no more than 5 seconds.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby papaoskar » Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:35 pm

Christopher Follett wrote:You haven't got something setup right. It always detects disk changes, sometimes it can be a bit slow, but no more than 5 seconds.

Thank you for the tip with c: diskchange, it does work! Great enhancement.
I have done the setup as proposed in the manual. Could I have something overseen?
Makes it sense to install it from diskette a second time?
papaoskar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby Raziel » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:34 pm

papaoskar wrote:
Christopher Follett wrote:You haven't got something setup right. It always detects disk changes, sometimes it can be a bit slow, but no more than 5 seconds.

Thank you for the tip with c: diskchange, it does work! Great enhancement.
I have done the setup as proposed in the manual. Could I have something overseen?
Makes it sense to install it from diskette a second time?

There's probably something interfering the diskchange

What dosdriver do you start?
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby papaoskar » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:19 pm

Christopher Follett wrote:You haven't got something setup right. It always detects disk changes, sometimes it can be a bit slow, but no more than 5 seconds.
There's probably something interfering the diskchange

What dosdriver do you start?

These are the DosDrivers and the files which seem of importance to me:

Verzeichnis "c:" an Sonntag 10-Aug-14
dismount 6204 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:37:51
1 Datei - 6K Bytes - 14 Blöcke verwendet
Verzeichnis "c:" an Sonntag 10-Aug-14
diskchange 1672 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:37:51
: DiskChange 52.2 (10.12.2007)
1 Datei - 1K Byte - 5 Blöcke verwendet
Verzeichnis "devs:dosdrivers" an Sonntag 10-Aug-14
Copy_of_RAD.info 8377 ----rw-d 07-Apr-13 18:05:00
Copy_of_RAD 1057 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:41:18
RANDOM.info 8593 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
RANDOM 89 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:41:18
AUX 277 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
AUDIO.info 11579 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
AUDIO 160 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
IPP1 142 ----rwed 24-Mai-13 21:28:27
IPP0 142 ----rwed 05-Mai-14 15:38:00
IPP1.info 14904 ----rw-d 05-Mai-14 16:01:04
IPP0.info 14904 ----rw-d 05-Mai-14 16:00:20
URL.info 6599 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
URL 360 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
TEXTCLIP.info 7523 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
TEXTCLIP 169 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
AUX1.info 6599 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
AUX1 278 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
AUX.info 6599 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
td0 542 ----rwed 16-Jul-13 15:20:26
PRT.info 8745 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
PRT 194 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
PIPE.info 6601 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
PIPE 137 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
PAR.info 8745 ----rw-d 05-Apr-13 18:51:13
PAR 195 ----rwed 14-Mär-13 16:38:00
td0.info 6862 ----rwed 16-Jul-13 15:20:26
26 Dateien - 117K Bytes - 276 Blöcke verwendet

Hope that helps!
papaoskar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby Raziel » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:55 pm

Looking through my Catweasel installation and TD0 is the only one that actually talks to the catweasel by mounting a driver for DF0:

Could you post it's contents?
Should be the very same if you haven't change anything though

Next question, did you start Catweasel prefs, altered it to match your system and saved?

Because there could be a slight chance that the default setting uses either a differnet drive model or a different diskchange command (Pin 34) than what your drive supports.

My Disk 0 ist set to "3,5" High Density (Standard PC drive)"
If you got an original Amiga drive you need to adapt the setting, of course
Sleep Time is set to 6 and Pin 34 is set to DSKCHG
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby Christopher Follett » Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:47 pm

Raziel wrote:Looking through my Catweasel installation and TD0 is the only one that actually talks to the catweasel by mounting a driver for DF0:

Could you post it's contents?
Should be the very same if you haven't change anything though

Next question, did you start Catweasel prefs, altered it to match your system and saved?

Because there could be a slight chance that the default setting uses either a differnet drive model or a different diskchange command (Pin 34) than what your drive supports.

My Disk 0 ist set to "3,5" High Density (Standard PC drive)"
If you got an original Amiga drive you need to adapt the setting, of course
Sleep Time is set to 6 and Pin 34 is set to DSKCHG


I set it up so DF0 in dos drivers does it, never really used TD0.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby papaoskar » Tue Aug 12, 2014 3:47 pm

Raziel wrote:Looking through my Catweasel installation and TD0 is the only one that actually talks to the catweasel by mounting a driver for DF0:
...
Sleep Time is set to 6 and Pin 34 is set to DSKCHG

Your hint was a really GOOD ONE.
I have drawn the DF0: driver from Storage to DosDrivers, checked that diskchange was marked and made a 'reboot fast'.
The X1000 booted quick an without a diskette in catweasels drive. Before I could only boot when a diskette was in the drive.
Thank you. All works well now.
papaoskar
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Diskchange with catweasel 2

Postby Christopher Follett » Tue Aug 12, 2014 6:52 pm

papaoskar wrote:
Raziel wrote:Looking through my Catweasel installation and TD0 is the only one that actually talks to the catweasel by mounting a driver for DF0:
...
Sleep Time is set to 6 and Pin 34 is set to DSKCHG

Your hint was a really GOOD ONE.
I have drawn the DF0: driver from Storage to DosDrivers, checked that diskchange was marked and made a 'reboot fast'.
The X1000 booted quick an without a diskette in catweasels drive. Before I could only boot when a diskette was in the drive.
Thank you. All works well now.


Hmmm,
If you have the official release driver, then DF0: should be installed in dosdrivers by default.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK


Return to Forum Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest