editing dutch.language

This forum is for discussion of the AmigaOS 4.x localization. This includes translation errors as well as proposals for improved translations, and other topics related to localization.

editing dutch.language

Postby Johan » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:12 pm

Hi guys,

Having done most of the translations for OS4.1, I think now it's time to update the old dutch.language.
It seems that I have to create a language.catalog that will overrule some strings in dutch.language.

I have found language.cd, and BuildLanguageCT too, and I have done the following:

BuildLanguageCT language.cd CTFILE language.ct

and that gave me a nice language.ct-file. I have edited some strings and did:

catcomp language.cd language.ct CATALOG language.catalog

and thus created a language.catalog. Placed this in sys:locale/catalogs/dutch/sys, rebooted, and then nothing. It turned out that the old dutch.language is still in charge.

I have surely done something wrong, or even something stupid, but if I only knew what...


johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby Slayer » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:51 pm

Perhaps you need to enter Locale Preferences and clear languages save and exit re-enter select it and save etc

OR

in a shell delete sys:prefs/env-archive/sys/locale.prefs

reset machine then select it via preferences etc

a few things you can try, of course I might be way off the mark 8-)

Sounds like once a language is set it is imported and saved elsewhere or similair
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby Johan » Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:29 pm

Been there, done that. To no avail, I am afraid.


johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby Slayer » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:41 pm

Then I guess you have done something wrong ;) you've either replaced the wrong file or not updated something else as well or a combination of both, but of course you suggested this in your initial post :D
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby tonyw » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:09 am

What are you trying to change? I mean, the output as seen on ???

There are many different places where language files are situated. Prefs editors, for instance, have their own Locale file with every prefs editor's text in it.

Maybe you have just changed the wrong file, which is why I asked what exactly are you trying to change?
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby Johan » Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:12 pm

There are certain strings that don't come from a .catalog-file but rather from xx.language (which holds names of days and months, and terms like "today", "tomorrow" etc). A .language-file is not something a translator can make himself, unlike a .catalog-file.

Now it seems to be possible to create a .catalog that will override (some) strings in a .language and that is what I am trying to achieve.

There is a language.cd, out of which I can make a language.ct (through BuildLanguageCT, a CatComp-lookalike) but that fails, in my case.


johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby javierdlr » Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:23 am

Haven't try, but do you copy such .catalog in LOCALE:<language>/Sys?
I'll try to compile language.catalog to spanish and see if I see the changes.
User avatar
javierdlr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Donostia (GUIPUZCOA) - Spain

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby nbache » Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:43 pm

javierdlr wrote:Haven't try, but do you copy such .catalog in LOCALE:<language>/Sys?
LOCALE:Catalogs/<language>/Sys - just like Johan stated in the first post above.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: editing dutch.language

Postby Belxjander » Fri May 18, 2012 7:01 pm

Johan wrote:There are certain strings that don't come from a .catalog-file but rather from xx.language (which holds names of days and months, and terms like "today", "tomorrow" etc). A .language-file is not something a translator can make himself, unlike a .catalog-file.

Now it seems to be possible to create a .catalog that will override (some) strings in a .language and that is what I am trying to achieve.

There is a language.cd, out of which I can make a language.ct (through BuildLanguageCT, a CatComp-lookalike) but that fails, in my case.


johan



This is correct... dutch.language may be like the chinese.language, japanese.language and korean.language files I am writing as part of perception-ime on http://code.google.com/p/perception-ime/

do you need to rebuild the dutch language with updated strings?
AmigaOS 4.1u4 Hand-Installed on a Sam440flex with Radeon 9250 Graphics card,
1GB of Memory present and 2 HDD (1x160GB primary, 1x500GB secondary),
Buffalo Wireless Keyboard and Mouse over USB in Japanese (BSKBW06)
Currently I am working on two projects called [url]http://code.google.com/p/perception-ime/[/url] and [url]http://code.google.com/p/polymorph/[/url]
Belxjander
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan


Return to Localization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests