Network Printer Support?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
bigbod

Network Printer Support?

Post by bigbod »

Hi, I'm new to Amiga OS 4.1 and I was wondering if it has any support for network printers?

I have a HP LaserJet 2600n on my home network and I was wondering if there's any chance I can print to it from my X1000?!?
AmigaONE X1000
danbeaver

Re: Network Printer Support?

Post by danbeaver »

Very simple answer: yes.

I use the lpr.device and OS4.1 instructions (found on OS4Depot.net as lpr_Dev.lha) to access my network of three printers (a bitchin' Dell 5130cdn duplexing work horse, a cheap B/W Samsung Laser for cheap output, and an HP inkjet AIO PhotoSmart. I wrote IconX scripts that copy the three different ENV settings (the different IP addresses) to select which one; I just click the icon for that printer and print.

<---My avatar is a Birman kitten named, "Diana" who decided one day she was a piece of fruit,
Raziel

Post by Raziel »

Netprinter

A perfect little utilitiy that gives you the freedom of choosing between lpr and raw (direct) printing.

I'm using a HP Laserjet 1320n on my networking, sharing it between a Win box and the X, working pretty well so far.
If your printer supports PostScript it will be even easier to set up
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
bigbod

Post by bigbod »

@danbeaver @Raziel

Thanks for your replies. I'll try them both out as soon as I get a chance.

Cheers!
Rod
AmigaONE X1000
328gts

Post by 328gts »

@ bigbod

welcome aboard :D
please keep us posted here as I've got the exact same printer in my home office
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
danbeaver

Post by danbeaver »