X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby mechanic » Wed May 23, 2012 11:06 am

10-4 Trevor

It will be a few days and will get back to this thread.
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby mechanic » Thu May 24, 2012 1:01 pm

OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.

Thanks All.

Before leaving this thread there is one thing I noticed that seems 'off'.

In System tools - System Profiler and Benchmarks - Devices - Processor, it reports the L2 Cache as being 0kB. Is it just here?

And how the heck do I get bigger fonts for the Menus and window fonts?
The only fonts I seem to be able to change are the Desktop fonts.

(If it isn't one thing it's another,but it's always something.) RB
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby musa » Thu May 24, 2012 4:10 pm

mechanic wrote:OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.


Maybe ubuntu is more what you need.
I've tried ubuntu a while now and it is in my opinion the best of both debian and mint.
Peter
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
musa
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:58 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby trevordick » Thu May 24, 2012 10:52 pm

musa wrote:
mechanic wrote:OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.


Maybe ubuntu is more what you need.
I've tried ubuntu a while now and it is in my opinion the best of both debian and mint.
Peter

the main (only?) advantage of MintPPC is that the 3D hardware acceleration fix works. Other than that I think Debian Squeeze is pretty rock solid.

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)- SOLVED

Postby mechanic » Fri May 25, 2012 1:51 am

trevordick wrote: Other than that I think Debian Squeeze is pretty rock solid.

Trevor


Agreed, but it is not just stability. Ever since they made the necessary changes to the base system, mostly for security, many people have been complaining about the interface being rather clumsy and not really friendly to users that like to poke around.

Anyway, I just wanted to make sure the onboard sound was working so when the Amiga drivers are ready I'll be able to use it, although I'll most likely put the SBLive back in as it does work under AOS and simply can't be beat for music. Which is why I got into Amiga in the first place.

So I guess I'll drop back one square and mess around in that sandbox.
Debian! Squeeze me. ;)
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby AlexC » Sat May 26, 2012 2:34 pm

mechanic wrote:I wonder if there is a way to probe the IDT codec chip. Is that on the PCI bus?


Sort of, it doesn't appear as a stand-alone PCI device as it's connected through the ATI SB600 but you can find its memory address in the PCI space from a PCI config register on the SB600/Azalia(HDAudio) device, and with that you can talk to the IDT codec chip directly.
User avatar
AlexC
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:14 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby mechanic » Sat May 26, 2012 5:51 pm

Thank You Alex

Soon as I get Squeeze back on I'll do some investigating. ( That is if I can get away from the new Xena software toys. :D )
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby musa » Thu May 31, 2012 5:30 pm

Mechanic did you get sound in Debian?
I just reinstalled debian with
debian-6.0.5-powerpc-netinst.iso instead of 6.0.4
and there was a sound was immediately.
All audio function optimally.
Maybe you should try the same iso :)
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
musa
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:58 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby mechanic » Thu May 31, 2012 6:25 pm

musa wrote:Mechanic did you get sound in Debian?
I just reinstalled debian with
debian-6.0.5-powerpc-netinst.iso instead of 6.0.4
and there was a sound was immediately.


Thanks musa, I will give it a try then let you know.

I did some kernel builds and got sound working, but what I did was not nice. I even got my Soundblaster SBLive! (0220) working. To get that going I had to not use the pasemi iommu during menuconfig.

Going to DL 6.0.5 now.
A-Eon A1X1000
User avatar
mechanic
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Postby musa » Thu May 31, 2012 9:38 pm

mechanic wrote:Thanks musa, I will give it a try then let you know.
I did some kernel builds and got sound working, but what I did was not nice. I even got my Soundblaster SBLive! (0220) working. To get that going I had to not use the pasemi iommu during menuconfig.
Going to DL 6.0.5 now.


Hello
I'm sorry but I was wrong. :oops:
It is not the onboard sound card that works but the pci sound card.
On the other hand, it is a completely clean sound so that is better for me than before.
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
musa
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron