Installing Debian: no keyboard

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby Johan » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:13 am

Hi guys,

I am in the process of installing Debian on my X1000 and I get as far as where I have to choose the language for the rest of the proces.
That is: I do CFE:
ramdisk -z -addr=0x24000000 -fs=iso atapi0.0:install/powerpc64/initrd.gz
setenv bootargs "root=/dev/ramdisk"
boot -elf -noints --fatfs cf0:vmlinux39cf

and then I get a lot of rolling text, with two pinguins in the topleft corner.

Then I need to select a language and that fails! The system does not respond to any keystroke at all.
I've tried different keyboards (Apple, HP), with the same result: no enter, no tab, no up or down, no nuthin'!

I even tried installing Ubuntu: no luck either.


Any ideas?



johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby trevordick » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:12 pm

Johan wrote:I am in the process of installing Debian on my X1000 and I get as far as where I have to choose the language for the rest of the proces.
Then I need to select a language and that fails! The system does not respond to any keystroke at all.
I've tried different keyboards (Apple, HP), with the same result: no enter, no tab, no up or down, no nuthin'!
johan

No I have not seen that problem before.

Two questions:

1. Where is your usb keyboard connected and are you using a KVM switch

2. What RadeonHD gfx card are you using.

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby Johan » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:39 pm

Hi Trevor,

Normally I use a white Apple keyboard through a kvm, which works perfectly. I can type in CFE with this set-up.
But I also tried this same keyboard directly in that dedicated usb-slot near the audiotowers (where the kvm also goes in, normally).
I did the same with a "normal" HP usb-keyboard.

My videocard is a Sapphire HD4650/1024.

It doesn't matter whether I try to install Debian or Ubuntu, the result is the same: I come as far as the language selection window.



johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby trevordick » Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:08 pm

Johan wrote:My videocard is a Sapphire HD4650/1024.

That RadeonHD card should be fine. However if you are installing Debian Squeeze you need to use the vmlinux39NH kernel. Better still download the latest Installation instructions and kernels (vmlinux-3.5.7) from the registered users area on the A-EON website and install one of the distros that supports 2D/3D gfx hardware acceleration.

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby zappa2009 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:38 pm

Hey You have the same Problem as i on my X1000 under Linux .

My X1000 need 5 or more times to setup a correct Debian/mintppc install or boot the installed Debian/mintppc korrect.

I Have RadeonHD 5450 and a single 2GB Ram-module.

I install with the latest Kernel 3.5.7 (but I can not use a USB-Joystick in Supertuxkart 0.7.3 or 0.8).
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
zappa2009
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:17 pm

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby Johan » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:51 pm

Ah, I see, vmlinux-3.5.7.... Well, I *thought* I did read that Installmanual2.5.1.4 carefully, hence the Squeeze and vmlinux39-thingy, but now I've read it once more (over a glass of wine & a cigar) and yes, now it works! I got as far as the real install and then I had to break off this all because it became too late in the evening, but I'll try again this weekend.
Just for the record: I now use vmlinux-3.5.7 and that Wheezy test-cd numero 1.

Thank you for helping me out.



Johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby trevordick » Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:52 am

I've read it once more (over a glass of wine and a cigar) and yes, now it works! 

Now that's what I call style. ;-)

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby Johan » Thu Jan 17, 2013 3:21 pm

But today is an other day.
Today it doesn't work anymore.

Oh well.
Tomorrow things may change again.

Have a cigar...


johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby Johan » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:49 pm

Now this is getting weird: this morning I took a brand new cfcard with vmlinux3.5.7 on it and the whole install worked nicely. No problems until the very end: I could not boot into Debian, and since the system had decided to install on a partition where I didn't want it, I decided to install again from scratch and guess what: system hangs on the first screen where I have to select a language.

Funny...


johan
~~~/\___Yet Another Stupid Enduser___/\~~~
User avatar
Johan
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Installing Debian: no keyboard

Postby gerograph » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:39 pm

I did not read through all this, but I have got UBUNTU here. I did not had any problems installing it. I just made sure that a) Keyboard is plugged in the right USB port (as described in setup guide) plus b) it is NOT an Apple/MAC Keyboard. A very cheap simple TRUST Keyboard did the trick !
User avatar
gerograph
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Moers

Next

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests