Ubuntu Mate 15.10

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

I can start the ubuntu MATE 15.10 PowerPC chroot in fullscreen. I start xterm without a window manager from the Lubuntu 12.04.5 login manager and then I start the chroot and mate-session.

Image

I created a new xsession file:

Code: Select all

cd /usr/share/xsession

Code: Select all

vi xterm.desktop

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Xterm
Exec=xterm
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

I created a small script to start the ubuntu MATE 15.10 PowerPC chroot:

Code: Select all

mount -t proc none ./proc
mount -o bind /dev ./dev
mount -t sysfs sys ./sys
xhost + local:
chroot . /usr/bin/mate-session
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

I tried to create a Ubuntu 15.10 PowerPC chroot on Ubuntu 10.04.4 PowerPC today. I want to use the new Firefox 41 on my old Ubuntu 10.04.4 system.

Code: Select all

debootstrap --arch powerpc wily /chroot-wily http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports
The program 'debootstrap' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
apt-get install debootstrap

Code: Select all

apt-get install debootstrap
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
libqimageblitz4 libtasn1-3-dev libgpg-error-dev libgcrypt11-dev libplot2c2 create-resources koffice-data pstoedit libgnutls-dev libsdl-ttf2.0-0 libpoppler-qt4-3 kchart
libxdg-basedir1 koffice-libs libpstoedit0c2a libkdcraw8
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following NEW packages will be installed:
debootstrap
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 59,8kB of archives.
After this operation, 279kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports/ lucid-backports/main debootstrap 1.0.37ubuntu1~lucid1 [59,8kB]
Fetched 59,8kB in 0s (252kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package debootstrap.
(Reading database ... 167900 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking debootstrap (from .../debootstrap_1.0.37ubuntu1~lucid1_all.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Setting up debootstrap (1.0.37ubuntu1~lucid1) ...

Code: Select all

debootstrap --arch powerpc wily /chroot-wily http://ports.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-ports
E: No such script: /usr/share/debootstrap/scripts/wily
I tried the wily script from Lubuntu 12.04.5 but it doesn't work.
Last edited by xeno74 on Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

I copied the whole ubuntu MATE 15.10 chroot to Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS.

It works without any problems. :-)

Screenshot (Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS PowerPC with kernel 4.1.9 and Firefox 41. Firefox 41 started from a ubuntu MATE 15.10 PowerPC chroot.)

Image
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
corto
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:53 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by corto »

xeno74 wrote:
corto wrote:
No, I haven't seen the login screen.

I use a RadeonHD 6570.
Could you configure Xorg manually, please?

Code: Select all

sudo X -configure
After that copy the xorg.conf to /etc/X11.
I had no time to try yet, but ... when the boot stops, I can't open a console. The prompt for login appears but I can enter nothing and the screen is cleared.

Maybe should I use an option in the boot command?
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by kilaueabart »

xeno74 wrote:ubuntu MATE 15.10 PowerPC in a chroot on Lubuntu 12.04.5 PowerPC

If you want to test ubuntu MATE 15.10 with a lot of new programs such as Firefox 41 or LibreOffice 5 and you don't have a free partition or you couldn't install it on your AmigaONE X1000, then you can install it in a chroot on your existing 12.04 system.
As one who for some reason couldn't install MATE on my X1000, I was delighted to see this and went through the procedure.

Some of the commands didn't seem to give proper results. "chroot . /bin/bash" always gives a warning: "cannot change locale."

"apt-get remove cups" seemed to work (much activity), but "autoremove" brought "autoremove: command not found," and then "remove avahi-daemon" brought "remove: command not found"! (It occurs to me now that I may have left the "apt-get" part out. Oops!)

"xhost + local:" got "unable to open display," and "export DISPLAY=:0" got some negative remark that I didn't write down.

I finally ended up with typing "firefox" and got

(process: 20884): Glib-CRITICAL ** g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys-page-size == 0' failed
(firefox 20884): Gtk-WARNING ** locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
No protocol specified
Error: cannot open display :0

Do I need to start over from scratch? CAN I start from scratch? I don't know how to delete /chroot-wily.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

kilaueabart wrote:
xeno74 wrote:ubuntu MATE 15.10 PowerPC in a chroot on Lubuntu 12.04.5 PowerPC

If you want to test ubuntu MATE 15.10 with a lot of new programs such as Firefox 41 or LibreOffice 5 and you don't have a free partition or you couldn't install it on your AmigaONE X1000, then you can install it in a chroot on your existing 12.04 system.
As one who for some reason couldn't install MATE on my X1000, I was delighted to see this and went through the procedure.

Some of the commands didn't seem to give proper results. "chroot . /bin/bash" always gives a warning: "cannot change locale."

"apt-get remove cups" seemed to work (much activity), but "autoremove" brought "autoremove: command not found," and then "remove avahi-daemon" brought "remove: command not found"! (It occurs to me now that I may have left the "apt-get" part out. Oops!)

"xhost + local:" got "unable to open display," and "export DISPLAY=:0" got some negative remark that I didn't write down.

I finally ended up with typing "firefox" and got

(process: 20884): Glib-CRITICAL ** g_slice_set_config: assertion 'sys-page-size == 0' failed
(firefox 20884): Gtk-WARNING ** locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.
No protocol specified
Error: cannot open display :0

Do I need to start over from scratch? CAN I start from scratch? I don't know how to delete /chroot-wily.
Please try in the chroot:

Code: Select all

apt-get remove cups
apt-get autoremove
apt-get remove avahi-daemon
apt-get autoremove
Furthermore try outside the chroot:

Code: Select all

mount --bind /tmp/.X11-unix ./tmp/.X11-unix
(outside the chroot)

Code: Select all

xhost + local:
(outside the chroot)

Chroot to ubuntu MATE 15.10 again with:

Code: Select all

chroot . /bin/bash
Set up the DISPLAY variable to ':0':

Code: Select all

export DISPLAY=:0
inside the chroot

Good luck!
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by kilaueabart »

The apt-get remove things worked.

I cd-ed out of chroot-wily.

The "mount --bind ..." command resulted in "mountpoint ./tmp/.X11-unix does not exist."

xhost + local: got me "xhost: unable to open display ""." I didn't proceed further.

By the way, I am puzzled by this in the CLI: "(GNU/Linux 4.3.0-rc1_A-EON_AMIGA_one_1000_Nemo ppc64)." I should be using the rc2 kernel, "4.3.0-rc2_A-EON_AMIGA_one_X1000_Nemo-00001-ga5274f7-dirty" by name, but how do I check on it?
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by xeno74 »

kilaueabart wrote:The apt-get remove things worked.

I cd-ed out of chroot-wily.

The "mount --bind ..." command resulted in "mountpoint ./tmp/.X11-unix does not exist."
Please create it:

Code: Select all

mkdir ./tmp/.X11-unix
(outside the chroot)

Afterwards try it again:

Code: Select all

mount --bind /tmp/.X11-unix ./tmp/.X11-unix
(outside the chroot)
kilaueabart wrote: By the way, I am puzzled by this in the CLI: "(GNU/Linux 4.3.0-rc1_A-EON_AMIGA_one_1000_Nemo ppc64)." I should be using the rc2 kernel, "4.3.0-rc2_A-EON_AMIGA_one_X1000_Nemo-00001-ga5274f7-dirty" by name, but how do I check on it?
PLEASE use the kernel 4.1 if you want a stable and reliable kernel for your AmigaONE X1000. The kernels 4.3 and 4.2 are only for experienced users who want to test some new features.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 1070
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Ubuntu Mate 15.10

Post by kilaueabart »

The result of mkdir ./tmp/.X11-unix strikes me as a bit weird:

mkdir: cannot create directory `./tmp/.x11-unix': No such file or directory.

I thought that was why I should make one!

Anyway, I'm about to go back to kernel 4.1.9. Please remind me: Am I supposed to put the Modules somewhere?
Post Reply