No sound (but solved, now I have)

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

No sound (but solved, now I have)

Postby kilaueabart » Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:28 am

I played a couple youtube files yesterday and was dismayed to discover I couldn't hear anything.

Today I copied a variety of audio and video files (.wma, .mid, .wav, .mp3; .avi, .flv, .mp4, .mov) files over from AOS, where they mostly work fine,
and tried to run them from my install of MATE. VLC came up whichever I clicked on and showed progress in the playback bar (including the midi
after complaining that it didn't have the necessary codec) but no sound at all. And no pictures came up with the video files except the .mov.
It came up visually but soundlessly.

Maybe I'm expecting too much from a beta MATE? I'm using either initrd-4.1.18-1.ubuntu16.04-ppc64.gz or the one immediately preceding that.
Last edited by kilaueabart on Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: No sound

Postby xeno74 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:08 pm

kilaueabart wrote:I played a couple youtube files yesterday and was dismayed to discover I couldn't hear anything.

Today I copied a variety of audio and video files (.wma, .mid, .wav, .mp3; .avi, .flv, .mp4, .mov) files over from AOS, where they mostly work fine,
and tried to run them from my install of MATE. VLC came up whichever I clicked on and showed progress in the playback bar (including the midi
after complaining that it didn't have the necessary codec) but no sound at all. And no pictures came up with the video files except the .mov.
It came up visually but soundlessly.

Maybe I'm expecting too much from a beta MATE? I'm using either initrd-4.1.18-1.ubuntu16.04-ppc64.gz or the one immediately preceding that.


First, please check if you have activated your sound card. You can check it with pavucontrol. If you don't have pavucontrol then you can install it with:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install pavucontrol


After that you can start it with pavucontrol in a shell. With Set as fallback of the register tab Output Devices you can select your default sound card.

Additionally, you can install a meta package of all codecs with:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras


Link: ubuntu-restricted-extras 65 (powerpc binary) in ubuntu xenial
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 3773
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: No sound

Postby kilaueabart » Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:02 am

Thanks. I followed instructions, but ended up with this:
Screenshot from 2016-04-19 15-34-28.png

The "<0k>" is unclickable. When I try to close Package configuration, I get a warning, "Close this terminal?
There is still a process running in this terminal. Closing the terminal will kill it."
Whatever process is running, it does no good. I still get no sound.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: No sound

Postby xeno74 » Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:14 am

kilaueabart wrote:Thanks. I followed instructions, but ended up with this:
Screenshot from 2016-04-19 15-34-28.png

The "<0k>" is unclickable. When I try to close Package configuration, I get a warning, "Close this terminal?
There is still a process running in this terminal. Closing the terminal will kill it."
Whatever process is running, it does no good. I still get no sound.


Please press the Enter key for closing the Package configuration.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 3773
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: No sound

Postby kilaueabart » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:37 am

No need to read this any more. Maybe I did need the Azalia after all!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Enter key has no effect. Meanwhile, I have a red circle with a white "-" in it up top right. Can't screenshot it; it vanishes if I try. But it says,
An error occurred, please run Package Manager from the right-click menu or apt-get in a terminal to see what is wrong.
The error message was: 'Error: BrokenCount >0'. This usually means your installed packages have unmet dependencies.
Show updates
Show notifications
Preferences

I don't know what "right-click menu" is, so I ran apt-get in a terminal, with these results, which I CANNOT copy and paste:
Screenshot from 2016-04-20 16-15-52.png

But all of a sudden that red circle is gone! Checked to see whether I have sound now. No sound yet.

Pavucontrol gets me a choice of "Cedar HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5400/6300 S..." and "SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) Analog Stereo." I assume I want the Radeon; at least I'm familiar with that name. But I've tried the Azalia too.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: No sound (but solved, now I have)

Postby xeno74 » Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:14 am

You can only run apt as root.

Examples:

Installing all xscreensaver packages:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install xscreensaver*


Looking for a package:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-cache search xscreensaver
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 3773
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am


Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron