Debian Buster/Sid PPC64

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

Debian Buster/Sid PPC64

Postby xeno74 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:16 pm

Hi All,

I created a small image of Debian Buster/Sid PPC64 today. I recommend to use it if you have any problems with Adrian's ISOs. Please increase the partition with GParted after you copied the image to an empty partition. I had to decrease the partition a little bit and after that I was able to increase the partition.

Download: debian-9.0-ppc64.img

root (password "amigaone")
amigaone (password "amigaone")

First steps

  1. Configure your network device with dhclient
  2. Check the network device with ip a
  3. Update the package index with apt-get update
  4. Install Xorg with apt-get install xorg
  5. After that you could install the MATE desktop with apt-get install mate-desktop-environment-extras
  6. Then you could install a display manager for example "lightdm" with apt-get install lightdm
  7. Afterwards reboot your AmigaOne

Screenshot of Debian Buster/Sid PPC64 with the RC5 of kernel 4.14 on an AmigaOne X5000:

Image

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: Debian Buster/Sid PPC64

Postby sailorMH » Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:34 pm

Thank You Xeno, it works!

I install also lxde desktop and it works also (see pic).
I have one question - why do you use ext3 in your image?
I converted it to ext4, but is there some advantage of ext3 over ext4?

thanks
Attachments
Screenshot from 2017-10-22 11-05-48.png
Pegasos 2: MorphOS, AmigaOS, MintPPC 11, NetBSD, MacOS X (molk), Debian 8
AmigaOne X1000: AmigaOS, MintPPC 11, Debian 8, Lubuntu 16.04
Powermac G5 Quad: MacOS X, Debian 8, Lubuntu 16.04
User avatar
sailorMH
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: Debian Buster/Sid PPC64

Postby xeno74 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:47 pm

sailorMH wrote:Thank You Xeno, it works!

I install also lxde desktop and it works also (see pic).
I have one question - why do you use ext3 in your image?
I converted it to ext4, but is there some advantage of ext3 over ext4?

thanks


Hi SailorMH,

Many thanks for testing! :-) I had some problems with the ext4 image. (ext4 feature xyz isn't supported after copying it to a partition)

Therefore I created an ext3 image and this works without any problems.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am


Return to Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests