UrlOpen needs Arexx Support

AmigaOS users can make feature requests in this forum.
djrikki

UrlOpen needs Arexx Support

Post by djrikki »

Hello,

As a Hollywood developer I quickly found out that I was made to pick the third-party software OpenURL over the AmigaOS standard URLOpen plain and simply because it has Arexx Support.

If the user's browser of choice is already open in the background and the end-user opens a link outside of the browser - passing through URLOpen it will instead (when possible) open a second instance of the user's browser of choice instead of simply opening a new tab/window within the already open browser.

Subsequently standard preferences for URLOpen should be pre-loaded in the distribution/update with the correct Arexx syntax for all the popular browser choices.
chris

Re: UrlOpen needs Arexx Support

Post by chris »

djrikki wrote:Hello,

As a Hollywood developer I quickly found out that I was made to pick the third-party software OpenURL over the AmigaOS standard URLOpen plain and simply because it has Arexx Support.

If the user's browser of choice is already open in the background and the end-user opens a link outside of the browser - passing through URLOpen it will instead (when possible) open a second instance of the user's browser of choice instead of simply opening a new tab/window within the already open browser.

Subsequently standard preferences for URLOpen should be pre-loaded in the distribution/update with the correct Arexx syntax for all the popular browser choices.
You can emulate the "use ARexx if the browser is already open" functionality by writing a script which is called by URLOpen (launch-handler) rather than called the executable directly. Andy Broad wrote an example up somewhere.

I agree this should be present by default.
kas1e
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Post by kas1e »