Save partition priorities in early startup

AmigaOS users can make feature requests in this forum.
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by DarrenHD »

It would be nice to be able to change and save partition priorities and boot flags in early startup. If you are constantly switching back and forth between partitions it would save lots of time for this small capability. Especially on classic where you have to go through multiple reboots and if you don't hold the mouse buttons down at the right time to get into the early startup you have to wait for the entire boot. Trust me, it would save lots of time :)

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1714
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by nbache »

On my A1200 I normally just use Media Toolbox from WB to change the boot priorities and then do a cold reboot. I never bother with the ESM.

But yes, it would be nice to have e.g. a command line program to set the boot priority of a volume and save the change to the RDB. That would save waiting for MT to load (which can take some time on an A1200 ;-)) and going through several windows and hitting several gadgets to achieve the same.

Best regards,

Nies
User avatar
thomasrapp
Posts: 310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:22 pm

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by thomasrapp »

I made a simple boot partition selector with RequestChoice and ChangeBootPri. No need to run HDToolbox or Media Toolbox or similar.

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de ... ootpri.lha

Code: Select all

.key changebootpri
.def changebootpri programme:sources/changebootpri

set choice `requestchoice "Startauswahl" "*nBitte wählen Sie das gewünschte Startlaufwerk*n" "OS 3.9|WB 3.1|OS 4.0|MorphOS|Netboot|Abbruch"`

if $choice eq 0
	skip quit
endif

if $choice eq 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH0 / OS 3.9"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 2 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 1 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH1 / WB 3.1"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 3 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 1 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH2 / OS 4.0"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 4 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 1 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH3 / MorphOS"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 5 ; Netboot
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 1 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH8 / Netboot"
	skip done
endif

lab done
requestchoice >nil: "BootSelector" "Boot device set to $dev." "Ok"

lab quit
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1714
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by nbache »

Splendid! Actually, I think I've read about this (or similar) sometime before.

Now I'll make the effort of getting it on my A1200 and put it to good use. Thanks!

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by DarrenHD »

thomasrapp wrote:I made a simple boot partition selector with RequestChoice and ChangeBootPri. No need to run HDToolbox or Media Toolbox or similar.

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de ... ootpri.lha

Code: Select all

.key changebootpri
.def changebootpri programme:sources/changebootpri

set choice `requestchoice "Startauswahl" "*nBitte wählen Sie das gewünschte Startlaufwerk*n" "OS 3.9|WB 3.1|OS 4.0|MorphOS|Netboot|Abbruch"`

if $choice eq 0
	skip quit
endif

if $choice eq 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH0 / OS 3.9"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 2 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 1 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH1 / WB 3.1"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 3 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 1 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH2 / OS 4.0"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 4 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 1 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH3 / MorphOS"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 5 ; Netboot
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 1 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH8 / Netboot"
	skip done
endif

lab done
requestchoice >nil: "BootSelector" "Boot device set to $dev." "Ok"

lab quit
Thank you very much I will try this out :)

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by DarrenHD »

DarrenHD wrote:
thomasrapp wrote:I made a simple boot partition selector with RequestChoice and ChangeBootPri. No need to run HDToolbox or Media Toolbox or similar.

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de ... ootpri.lha

Code: Select all

.key changebootpri
.def changebootpri programme:sources/changebootpri

set choice `requestchoice "Startauswahl" "*nBitte wählen Sie das gewünschte Startlaufwerk*n" "OS 3.9|WB 3.1|OS 4.0|MorphOS|Netboot|Abbruch"`

if $choice eq 0
	skip quit
endif

if $choice eq 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 1 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH0 / OS 3.9"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 2 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 1 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH1 / WB 3.1"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 3 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 1 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH2 / OS 4.0"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 4 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 1 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 0 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH3 / MorphOS"
	skip done
endif

if $choice eq 5 ; Netboot
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH0 0 ; OS 3.9
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH1 0 ; WB 3.1
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH2 0 ; OS 4.0
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH3 0 ; MorphOS
	<changebootpri> >nil: IDH8 1 ; Netboot
	set dev "IDH8 / Netboot"
	skip done
endif

lab done
requestchoice >nil: "BootSelector" "Boot device set to $dev." "Ok"

lab quit
Thank you very much I will try this out :)

Darren

Just wanted to report back this is working perfectly on my system...Thanks again Thomas! :)

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1714
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by nbache »

I ended up just installing the ChangeBootPri command and type what I need each time I need it. I could have amended the script to my setup, and I'm sure it would have worked fine, but I haven't bothered so far :?

Anyway, the command works fine here as well. Thanks!

Betst regards,

Niels
User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by DarrenHD »

nbache wrote:I ended up just installing the ChangeBootPri command and type what I need each time I need it. I could have amended the script to my setup, and I'm sure it would have worked fine, but I haven't bothered so far :?

Anyway, the command works fine here as well. Thanks!

Betst regards,

Niels
I'd like to make an icon out of it...I assume you could do this with IconX ?
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1714
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by nbache »

IconX can do it, yes, or you could simply make a tool icon and set it to run from Shell.

Best regards,

Niels
ancalimon
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Save partition priorities in early startup

Post by ancalimon »

Are you calling this script from the startup-sequence of each partition or have you created a very small partition for this?
Post Reply