New X5000 owner - USB issues

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.

Re: New X5000 owner - USB issues

Postby Raziel » Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:44 pm

tonyw wrote:The common problem here is U-Boot. Note that it doesn't fail with CFE on the X1k.

Unfortunately it is very difficult to get any maintenance performed on the X5k's U-Boot, since it was not done by Hyperion and we devs have no sources for it.

Huh?

I thought UBoot was used explicitely for the X5000 *because* it was updated to work with the new hardware?
If there are no sources for it, why did they even use it then?

And what about CFE?
Why did they switch from UBoot to CFE for the X1K and then back to using UBoot?

I don't get it and every day that passes i start to understand less...

If there are no sources for it, is the UBoot version used in the X5K the old one they already used in the X1K?

Why not develop CFE further?


Edit: Sorry for the OT
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: New X5000 owner - USB issues

Postby xenic » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:36 pm

Raziel wrote:If there are no sources for it, is the UBoot version used in the X5K the old one they already used in the X1K

Read Tony's post again. He is saying that the OS4 developers don't have the source code. If you stop the initial boot (UBoot) and check out the menus, you will see the option to boot MorphOS which was not in any previous versions of UBoot. I'm guessing that it's A-Eon that has the sources to X5000 UBoot.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 975
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: New X5000 owner - USB issues

Postby Raziel » Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:13 pm

xenic wrote:
Raziel wrote:If there are no sources for it, is the UBoot version used in the X5K the old one they already used in the X1K

Read Tony's post again. He is saying that the OS4 developers don't have the source code. If you stop the initial boot (UBoot) and check out the menus, you will see the option to boot MorphOS which was not in any previous versions of UBoot. I'm guessing that it's A-Eon that has the sources to X5000 UBoot.

Ah, missed that bit

Thanks

Still i wonder why switching back and forth from UBoot to CFE and vice versa was necessary...politics, i guess
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Re: New X5000 owner - USB issues

Postby ssolie » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:07 am

Raziel wrote:Still i wonder why switching back and forth from UBoot to CFE and vice versa was necessary...politics, i guess

There is nothing political going on. The board manufacturer chose what firmware to use which was dictated by the project parameters at the time.

A-EON has the latest copies of all the firmware being used on their boards and any developer can get access to it if they just ask.
AmigaOS Development Team Lead
Be authentic. Get AmigaOS.
User avatar
ssolie
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:51 pm
Location: Canada

Re: New X5000 owner - USB issues

Postby Raziel » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:53 am

ssolie wrote:
Raziel wrote:Still i wonder why switching back and forth from UBoot to CFE and vice versa was necessary...politics, i guess

There is nothing political going on. The board manufacturer chose what firmware to use which was dictated by the project parameters at the time.

A-EON has the latest copies of all the firmware being used on their boards and any developer can get access to it if they just ask.

And is it planned to roll out that "latest firmware" to end users aswell?

e.g. X1K CFE...i'd like to have the startup speed set from 4 to 5(max) by default
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
User avatar
Raziel
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:00 pm
Location: A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains

Previous

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X5000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest