Altivec?

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.

Altivec?

Postby xenic » Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:01 pm

I been testing programs that I've copied over from my X1000 and found that MUIMPlayer and MPlayer caused sever crashes. Both programs were set to use Altivec versions on my X1000 and are the cause of the crashes. When I switched both video player to non-altivec, they work as before on my X1000.

Does X5000 have Altivec? Is there some compatability issue between Altivec for different PowerPC processors?
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: Altivec?

Postby tonyw » Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:47 am

No, the p5020 and p5040 CPUs do not have Altivec.
cheers
tony
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Altivec?

Postby daveyw » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:53 am

Hmmm...

AmigaOne - Altivec
SAM - No Altivec
X1000 - Altivec
X5000 - No Altivec

So I guess the next PPC Amiga will have Altivec? ;)
User avatar
daveyw
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:44 pm

Re: Altivec?

Postby salass00 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:40 pm

The Tabor AKA A1222 doesn't have altivec either AFAIK.

Also not all Eyetech AmigaOne models had altivec (only the A1-XE models that came with G4 CPUs).
User avatar
salass00
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:12 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Altivec?

Postby K-L » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:55 pm

Only PowerPC CPUs equipped with AltiVec and supported by AmigaOS 4.1 are : G4 (used in AmigaOne XE G4 and Pegasos II G4) and PA6T-1682M (used in X1000).
--
AmigaONE X1000 / Radeon 2400 Pro (R610LE) / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
Samm440ep/733Mhs (o/c) / Radeon M9 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
K-L
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:35 pm
Location: Lyon, France


Return to Platform: AmigaOne X5000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron