X5000 OK?

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby Amigo1 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:07 pm

Hi,
my suggestion is the same, go for one! I'd buy one again as I'm happy with the X5000.
The issue with the sound card which made the system unstable happened to me too, but the shop where I bought the AmigaOne from resolved it by sending me another audio card.
Installing AmigaOS worked like a charm and the system does feel faster than the X1000. At times it is not as stable as the X1000, but since I still have the pre-release of AmigaOS installed, the quirks will be solved with future updates to the OS.

Also I noticed USB works better on the X5000, it might be U-Boot is helping here..

:)
User avatar
Amigo1
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby kilaueabart » Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:13 am

I notice that AOTL's X5000 case is a fair amount smaller than the X1000 case I was going to install the motherboard into, so I chickened out and ordered the case version. I suspect that will save me from/deprive me of many troublesome/interesting set-up problems/puzzles.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby kilaueabart » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:51 am

mritter0 wrote:I have not had a single problem with mine. Pull the trigger and buy one. You won't be sorry.

I got mine customized through Amiga On The Lake. See if they will do the same for you.

I ended up buying the case. I guess that plus stupidity/dementia caused me a bit of trouble getting started.

The system arrived yesterday. I just unpacked it and tried turning it on and I was really impressed with the speed of Workbench. It didn't come up all that fast, but everything on it just opens in a flash. Not what I am used to with the SAM.

I had trouble getting on the internet. Problem was, there are four connectors where an internet plug will fit. At first I thought the one at the very bottom seemed the natural one, but I checked out the writing on it, "TP LINK," with Google, and all the hits related to wifi. I didn't think the X5000 had wifi, but maybe that was for the future? So I googled "X5000 back panel," hoping for a picture, but only got things like "Back panel from left to right: serial RS-232, ethernet RJ-45 10/100/1000 mbps, 2x USB 2.0 type A female," which made it sound like it must be the top-most socket. I tried that for a while, finally tried the next socket down. When that didn't work either, I finally went with my original impression, and here I am on the internet. I guess they figure by the time one gets to X5000, one shouldn't need things like users' manuals anymore.

Some other things are causing a bit of trouble. The machine refuses to see a flash drive I had copied hundreds of files off my SAM460 for installation on the X5000. But all in all I'm pretty happy.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby amigasociety » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:14 am

Onboard ethernet does not work yet so the only other 1 ethernet port you normally would have had (I have never seen 4 as you describe) should have been the NIC card installed for your networking. You found it it appears so all is well <grin>.

What format is your flash drive. I am taking it you mean a USB Stick? Are you plugging it into one of the correct USB ports. My case has 2 USB 3 ports that don't work and only the two USB 2 ports are active, so are you plugging into a known ready to use port? What format was your USB stick? Amiga can read amiga formats of course plus some generic ones like Fat. I use a Fat formatted one for transfer between other systems that are non amiga and works well for me.

Good luck with your X5K.

TJ
kilaueabart wrote:
mritter0 wrote:I have not had a single problem with mine. Pull the trigger and buy one. You won't be sorry.

I got mine customized through Amiga On The Lake. See if they will do the same for you.

I ended up buying the case. I guess that plus stupidity/dementia caused me a bit of trouble getting started.

The system arrived yesterday. I just unpacked it and tried turning it on and I was really impressed with the speed of Workbench. It didn't come up all that fast, but everything on it just opens in a flash. Not what I am used to with the SAM.

I had trouble getting on the internet. Problem was, there are four connectors where an internet plug will fit. At first I thought the one at the very bottom seemed the natural one, but I checked out the writing on it, "TP LINK," with Google, and all the hits related to wifi. I didn't think the X5000 had wifi, but maybe that was for the future? So I googled "X5000 back panel," hoping for a picture, but only got things like "Back panel from left to right: serial RS-232, ethernet RJ-45 10/100/1000 mbps, 2x USB 2.0 type A female," which made it sound like it must be the top-most socket. I tried that for a while, finally tried the next socket down. When that didn't work either, I finally went with my original impression, and here I am on the internet. I guess they figure by the time one gets to X5000, one shouldn't need things like users' manuals anymore.

Some other things are causing a bit of trouble. The machine refuses to see a flash drive I had copied hundreds of files off my SAM460 for installation on the X5000. But all in all I'm pretty happy.
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor
User avatar
amigasociety
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:09 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby xenic » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:08 pm

kilaueabart wrote:Some other things are causing a bit of trouble. The machine refuses to see a flash drive I had copied hundreds of files off my SAM460 for installation on the X5000. But all in all I'm pretty happy.

Assuming you have the same case I got with my complete system, I found that the USB2 port on the front top of the case is less reliable than the USB ports on the rear of the of the case. My wireless mouse usually doesn't get attached when it's plugged into the front port and sometimes USB flash drives don't get attached when I plug them into the front port. I tried reseating the front USB connector at the motherboard but it didn't help. The OS4.1FE prerelease for the X5000 doesn't include SFS so unless you have Enhancer installed or purchased the new SFS2 seperately, your X5000 won't recognize an SFS formatted flash drive. As amigasociety suggested, you might need to use a FAT formatted flash drive and plug into a rear USB port if it doesn't get recognized in the front port.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:06 am

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby kilaueabart » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:19 am

daveyw wrote:If you do plan on transplanting HDDs from your X1000 to your new X5000, one thing to be aware of is that SFS is no longer part of the base OS4 and isn't included in the OS4.1 FE distro for the X5000.

Actually my plan was simply to copy virtually all of the content of the SAM460 partitions to newly formatted partitions on the X5000, a process that seemed to have worked very well once I had copied the data to a flash drive the new computer was willing to open (Media Toolbox could see the drive, but Workbench and Diskmaster 2 could not; the SAM Workbench had no problem with it). I copied Odyssey over, and was finally able to get at my email. The OWB that came with the machine said it couldn't open the site.

Probably one thing I did wrong was to copy a lot of System files over. That briefly messed up Internet, because a SAM460 device was put in front of the rtl139, but that was easy to delete, and I soon had my email up. But just as I was getting ready to plug in my speakers, the machine died on me (it seems to do that sometimes when I touch it) and it would not reboot past the thing firing the bright light across the screen and then starting over. I suspect I maybe messed up kickstart or something.

So I used the install disk and reinstalled Workbench. In the process I told it I need a 1920 by 1080 screen (my monitor's preference), but the install ended on 1280 x 768. Prefs > Screenmode didn't offer anything bigger. I chose the go-with-monitor preference option, and when I rebooted, my best option was the way the screen came up: 640x480. I left it turned off for a while then rebooted and was temporarily back to 1280x768 until a soft reboot sent me back to 640x480, but that spoils the fun! Not sure what to try next. Meanwhile, I am back on my Raspberry Pi, and I really will do my email in a minute!
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby amigasociety » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:54 am

The video drivers for the stock Amiga OS 4.1FE that comes with the X5K only supports the lower rez. You need to own and install the newest Radeon drivers in order to access higher rez like 1920x1080.

Your Enhancer 1.0 (or whatever you received with your X5K) should have them.

The newest Enhancer 1.3 has the newest Radeon drivers.

"RadeonHD drivers v2.22 & v1.21 now support UHD 4K screenmodes on HDMI 1.3+ monitors"

TJ

kilaueabart wrote:
daveyw wrote:If you do plan on transplanting HDDs from your X1000 to your new X5000, one thing to be aware of is that SFS is no longer part of the base OS4 and isn't included in the OS4.1 FE distro for the X5000.

Actually my plan was simply to copy virtually all of the content of the SAM460 partitions to newly formatted partitions on the X5000, a process that seemed to have worked very well once I had copied the data to a flash drive the new computer was willing to open (Media Toolbox could see the drive, but Workbench and Diskmaster 2 could not; the SAM Workbench had no problem with it). I copied Odyssey over, and was finally able to get at my email. The OWB that came with the machine said it couldn't open the site.

Probably one thing I did wrong was to copy a lot of System files over. That briefly messed up Internet, because a SAM460 device was put in front of the rtl139, but that was easy to delete, and I soon had my email up. But just as I was getting ready to plug in my speakers, the machine died on me (it seems to do that sometimes when I touch it) and it would not reboot past the thing firing the bright light across the screen and then starting over. I suspect I maybe messed up kickstart or something.

So I used the install disk and reinstalled Workbench. In the process I told it I need a 1920 by 1080 screen (my monitor's preference), but the install ended on 1280 x 768. Prefs > Screenmode didn't offer anything bigger. I chose the go-with-monitor preference option, and when I rebooted, my best option was the way the screen came up: 640x480. I left it turned off for a while then rebooted and was temporarily back to 1280x768 until a soft reboot sent me back to 640x480, but that spoils the fun! Not sure what to try next. Meanwhile, I am back on my Raspberry Pi, and I really will do my email in a minute!
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor
User avatar
amigasociety
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:09 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby daveyw » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:17 am

kilaueabart wrote:Probably one thing I did wrong was to copy a lot of System files over. That briefly messed up Internet, because a SAM460 device was put in front of the rtl139, but that was easy to delete, and I soon had my email up. But just as I was getting ready to plug in my speakers, the machine died on me (it seems to do that sometimes when I touch it) and it would not reboot past the thing firing the bright light across the screen and then starting over. I suspect I maybe messed up kickstart or something.


Don't copy across any System files! The SAM and the X5000 are both AmigaOS4.1FE, but they're different flavours and have different requirements!You wouldn't install OS4.1 for the A1XE on your SAM, and this is no different.

Only install the system files that come with the X5000 disc you downloaded from here or you may have had a bootable flash drive delivered with your purchase.
User avatar
daveyw
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:44 pm

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby kilaueabart » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:27 pm

daveyw wrote:
kilaueabart wrote:Probably one thing I did wrong was to copy a lot of System files over. ....


Don't copy across any System files! The SAM and the X5000 are both AmigaOS4.1FE, but they're different flavours and have different requirements!You wouldn't install OS4.1 for the A1XE on your SAM, and this is no different.

Only install the system files that come with the X5000 disc you downloaded from here or you may have had a bootable flash drive delivered with your purchase.


I'll (probably) never forget that again. Anyway, this morning I emailed Aaron at AOTL about my ScreenMode problem, and a few minutes later (!) he emailed back and told me to reinstall Enhancer Software. I found a 2016 version on my flash drive backup and installed it. In 2016 I was still using X1000, so maybe some things will be wrong. I should check it out at AmiStore, but I always have such a problem getting on that site!

Anyway, so far so good, with a proper ScreenMode. Haven't dared turn the machine off and on again yet...
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: X5000 OK?

Postby amigasociety » Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:57 pm

Kilaueabart, did not believe me about re-installing the more current Radeon drivers from Enhancer I see. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
TJ

kilaueabart wrote:
daveyw wrote:
kilaueabart wrote:Probably one thing I did wrong was to copy a lot of System files over. ....


Don't copy across any System files! The SAM and the X5000 are both AmigaOS4.1FE, but they're different flavours and have different requirements!You wouldn't install OS4.1 for the A1XE on your SAM, and this is no different.

Only install the system files that come with the X5000 disc you downloaded from here or you may have had a bootable flash drive delivered with your purchase.


I'll (probably) never forget that again. Anyway, this morning I emailed Aaron at AOTL about my ScreenMode problem, and a few minutes later (!) he emailed back and told me to reinstall Enhancer Software. I found a 2016 version on my flash drive backup and installed it. In 2016 I was still using X1000, so maybe some things will be wrong. I should check it out at AmiStore, but I always have such a problem getting on that site!

Anyway, so far so good, with a proper ScreenMode. Haven't dared turn the machine off and on again yet...
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor
User avatar
amigasociety
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:09 pm
Location: Northern California

PreviousNext

Return to Platform: AmigaOne X5000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests