But I don't live in England!

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.

But I don't live in England!

Postby kilaueabart » Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:59 pm

I needed to look up office supply stores and UPS stores on Google this morning. I'm in Oakland, California but I kept getting maps of stores around Glascow! How come? I probably should mention that this is with a recent MATE Power PC Remix 2017.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby caseycullen » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:54 am

kilaueabart wrote:I needed to look up office supply stores and UPS stores on Google this morning. I'm in Oakland, California but I kept getting maps of stores around Glascow! How come? I probably should mention that this is with a recent MATE Power PC Remix 2017.

Open "MATE Terminal" and type:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install mate-system-tools
If that package does not exist enter
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gnome-system-tools

After the package installs you will have a "Time and Date" option in the Control Center. Click on it and make sure your location is set accurately.
-Casey
caseycullen
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:12 am
Location: Madison, WI USA

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby xeno74 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:42 am

Hi All,

apt-get doesn’t work because there aren’t any repositories available but you can configure it with the command sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales

A window will ask you to select the languages (you select with SPACE) you want to have available. Choose your own.

Changes may not show immediately, a reboot will be needed.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
 
Posts: 4105
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:58 am

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby nbache » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:23 pm

Or, of course, the quick way:

Search for your home city in Google maps, then search for what you need near that.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby broadblues » Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:07 pm

kilaueabart wrote: Glascow! .


Glasgow is not in England :-P
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby kilaueabart » Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:40 am

broadblues wrote:
kilaueabart wrote: Glascow! .


Glasgow is not in England :-P

I meant "Britain" of course, but the maps I got were about half northern England and half Scotland.
User avatar
kilaueabart
 
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:36 am

Re: But I don't live in England!

Postby BillE » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:19 pm

kilaueabart wrote:I needed to look up office supply stores and UPS stores on Google this morning. I'm in Oakland, California but I kept getting maps of stores around Glascow!


Neither does anyone from Glasgow !


Bill.

An Englishman living in Scotland for over 30 years - who now thinks Glasgow is way down south.
BillE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:50 am


Return to Platform: AmigaOne X5000 - Linux Only

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron